Health and Performance

Empa's task is to support with advanced material research technological innovations needed for the growing population in the areas of energy, environment and personal health. In the Research Focus Area "Health and Performance", we focus on material-based health care innovations addressing the growing needs of our ageing society.

We develop novel materials for medical applications in and on the human body, and carry out research on new materials and systems that support and protect the human body and its function under different environmental conditions and health states.


For this, we need to understand materials-biology (proteins, bacteria’s, cells, etc.) interactions down to the nanoscale using cutting-edge and specifically designed analytical equipment. Based on the improved understanding we produce systems providing enhanced properties and performance using state-of-the art fabrication tools and working in teams of interdisciplinary scientists and engineers devoted to excellence.


In short: We combine our expertise in materials science, materials processing, imaging technologies, computational modeling, life science, bioinformatics and technology to generate innovative solutions in close collaboration with our clinical partners.

 

/documents/20659/66477/Health+and+Performance/15040448-8c26-4a9c-8d3f-d860e8c964ae?t=1573811594003
Synthesis, processing, analytics and simulation as the cycles of materials research allow a targeted and solution-oriented development of materials for the health sector. In combination with pre-clinical research, "state-of-the-art" in vitro technologies and simulations, innovative solutions become applicable with industrial and clinical partners.

Some of the questions we address:

  • Which materials are suitable to maintain human health or even restore it?
  • Which products improve the quality of life or safety for elderly people?
  • How can we reduce animal testing?
  • How can we develop multi-scale and multi-layer data integration for digital pathology?
  • How can we design, synthesize and functionalize nanomaterials for health?
  • How can we improve performance in sport or under extreme conditions?
  • How can we functionalize fibers and textiles to give them specific properties?
  • How can we ensure the safety of new materials in future?

Gesundheit und Leistungsfähigkeit

Empa hat die Aufgabe, mit fortschrittlicher Materialforschung technologische Innovationen zu unterstützen, die für die wachsende Bevölkerung in den Bereichen Energie, Umwelt und Gesundheit benötigt werden. Im Forschungsschwerpunkt "Gesundheit und Leistungsfähigkeit" konzentrieren wir uns auf materialbasierte Gesundheitsinnovationen und befassen uns mit den wachsenden Bedürfnissen unserer alternden Gesellschaft.

Wir entwickeln neuartige Materialien für medizinische Anwendungen im und am menschlichen Körper und forschen an neuen Materialien und Systemen, die den menschlichen Körper und seine Funktionen unter verschiedenen Umweltbedingungen und bei unterschiedlichem Gesundheitszustand unterstützen und schützen.

Hierfür ist es wichtig, die Wechselwirkungen zwischen den Materialoberflächen und der Biologie (Proteine, Bakterien, Zellen, etc.) bis in den Nanobereich zu verstehen, unter Zuhilfenahme von teils speziell entwickelten Analysegeräten. Dieses vertiefte Verständnis erlaubt uns, Systeme mit verbesserten Eigenschaften und Leistungen zu entwickeln – unter Verwendung modernster Fertigungswerkzeuge und in Teams mit interdisziplinären Wissenschaftlern und Ingenieuren, die sich der Exzellenz verschrieben haben.

Kurz gesagt: Wir kombinieren unsere Expertise in den Bereichen Materialwissenschaft, Materialverarbeitung, rechnergestützter Modellierung, Life Science und Technologie zu innovativen Lösungen.

/documents/20659/66477/Health+and+Performance+Grafik/b52135d3-008a-4a3a-93ed-28cc601b9cb8?t=1522069288087
Die Zyklen der Materialforschung von der Synthese, Prozessierung und Analytik bis hin zur Simulation erlauben eine zielgerichtete und lösungsorientierte Materialentwicklung für den Gesundheitsbereich. In Kombination mit pre-klinischer Forschung, "state-of-the-art" in vitro Technologien und Simulationen, finden innovative Lösungen über Partner in Industrie und Kliniken ihren Weg in die Anwendung.

Dabei geht es um Fragen wie:

  • Welche Materialien sind geeignet, um die menschliche Gesundheit zu erhalten oder gar wiederherzustellen?
  • Welche Produkte verbessern die Lebensqualität oder erhöhen die Sicherheit älterer Menschen?
  • Wie können wir unsere Leistungsfähigkeit im Sport oder unter Extrembedingungen steigern?
  • Wie lassen sich Fasern und Textilien so funktionalisieren, dass sie gewünschte Eigenschaften erhalten?
  • Können wir in Zukunft die Sicherheit neuer Materialien garantieren? Und wie lässt sich dies testen?
Prof. Dr. Alex Dommann

Prof. Dr. Alex Dommann
Departementsleiter

Telefon: +41 58 765 7401