Skip to Content

 

Focus #74

Tomorrow's Traffic

more

No time to die

Switzerland adopted the "Long-Term Climate Strategy" with the net zero goal by 2050. And Empa published research papers on the combustion engine. Does this fit together? Aren't combustion engines yesterday's technology?
more

Quiet train tracks

An inconspicuous component under the tracks is a source of hope for a research team including Empa scientists to reduce railway noise for close-by residents.
more

 

Editorial

Always on the move

more

 

News from the lab

In brief

more

Las Vegas passage

Ultra-fast capsules in vacuum tubes: All around the world, companies and research institutes are working on "Hyperloop" concepts. Swissloop Tunneling, a student initiative, is developing a drilling machine for underground transport tubes while "Swissloop" presents its new pod.
more

In-flight diagnosis

A monitoring system for aircrafts detects minor damage during flight without the aircraft having to go into the hangar for maintenanceThis will reduce operating costs and increase safety at the same time.
more

 

Subscribe to

Empa Quarterly

more

A coat for bananas

Empa and Lidl Switzerland have jointly developed a cellulose coating for fruit and vegetables. The novel coating is made from vegetable peels and helps to reduce packaging and food waste.


more

Plastic snowfall

Scientists have analyzed the air pollution by plastic nanoparticles in the Alpes. The new study shows that the spread of nanoplastic through the air is a more widespread problem than previously thought. 

more

 

Empa - The book

Beyond Materials

more

Smart bandage

A bandage that releases medication as soon as an infection starts in a wound could treat injuries more efficiently. Empa researchers are working on polymer fibers that release antimicrobial drugs as soon as the environment heats up due to an infection.
more

Building lean

Super-insulating materials such as aerogels are expensive. At the same time, they offer a powerful advantage: the thinner the insulation of a building, the larger its usable area. An Empa research team shows where the use of aerogel is already economically viable.
more

 

 

co-operate

Campus Dübendorf

more

 

Empa Newsletter

subscribe

more

Playing for change
As part of the Swiss Digital Day 2021, a new simulation game developed by Empa and partners immersed participants in problems, opportunities and quandaries  of climate neutrality – a lively inspiration for a sustainable future.
more

Silence or speed?

Kurt Heutschi, a senior scientist in Empa's Acoustics / Noise Control lab, talks in an interview about speed limit 30 and explains what noise does and why individuals perceive sound so differently.

more

 

 

NEST Podcast

The future of construction

more

 

Follow us

on social media
 
 

 

Teaching fungi
Empa scientists have succeeded at controlling the spread of fungi in native wood types. Recently, the soft rot fungus Kretzschmaria deusta were even taught to write some words, and just like first graders, they are still a bit shaky when writing particular letters.
more

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution

Zum Inhalt wechseln

 

Fokus #74

Fern, schnell, grün

mehr

Keine Zeit zu sterben

2021 verabschiedete der Schweizer Bundesrat die «Langfristige Klimastrategie der Schweiz» mit dem Ziel Netto Null bis 2050. Und die Empa veröffentlichte Forschungsarbeiten zum Verbrennungsmotor. Wie passt das zusammen? Sind Verbrennungsmotoren nicht Technologie von gestern?
mehr

Leise Geleise

Ein unscheinbares Bauteil unter den Gleisen ist für ein Forscherteam mit Beteiligung der Empa ein Hoffnungsträger für leiseren Schienenverkehr für Anwohner.
mehr

 

Editorial

Der bewegte Mensch

mehr

 

News aus den Empa-Labors

In Kürze

mehr

Bohren in Las Vegas

Rasende Kapseln in Vakuumröhren: Das «Swissloop Tunneling» Team entwickelt eine Bohrmaschine für unterirdische Transportröhren. Erster Lohn der Mühe: Rang 2 bei einem Wettbewerb in Las Vegas. 
mehr

Diagnose im Flug

Ein neues Überwachungssystem für Flugzeug-Bauteile könnte kleine Beschädigungenkünftig schon während des Fluges aufspüren, ohne dass das Flugzeug zur Wartung in den Hangar muss. Das senkt die Betriebskosten und erhöht die Sicherheit.
mehr

 

Empa Quarterly

abonnieren

mehr

Obst im Öko-Mantel 

Empa und Lidl Schweiz haben eine Cellulose-Schutzschicht für Früchte- und Gemüse entwickelt. Das neuartige Coating wird aus ausgepressten Frucht- und Gemüseschalen hergestellt und soll die Verpackung reduziert und Food-Waste vermeiden.
mehr

Es schneit Plastik

Eine neue Studie zeigt, die Verbreitung von Nanoplastik durch die Luft ein weitreichenderes Problem ist, als bisher angenommen.
mehr

 

Empa - Das Buch

Viel mehr als Materialien

mehr

Das schlaue Pflaster

Mit einem Verband, der Medikamente freisetzt, sobald eine Infektion in einer Wunde beginnt, liessen sich Verletzungen effizienter behandeln. Empa-Forschende arbeiten derzeit an Polymerfasern, die weich werden, sobald sich die Umgebung aufgrund einer Infektion erwärmt, und dadurch ein keimtötendes Mittel abgeben.
mehr

Dünner dämmen

Hochleistungsdämmstoffe wie Aerogele sind teuer. Gleichzeitig bieten sie einen schlagkräftigen Vorteil: Je dünner die Dämmung eines Gebäudes, desto grösser dessen Nutzfläche. Ein Forschungsteam der Empa zeigt, wo sich der Einsatz von Aerogel heute schon lohnt.
mehr

 

 

co-operate

Campus Dübendorf

mehr

 

Empa Newsletter

hier abonnieren

mehr

Klimawende spielen 

Beim Schweizer Digitaltag 2021 liess ein neues Simulationsspiel, das die Empa mit Projektpartnern entwickelt hat, die Teilnehmenden in Probleme, Chancen und Zwickmühlen eintauchen – eine lebhafte Inspiration für eine nachhaltige Zukunft.
mehr

Hilft Tempo 30?

Kurt Heutschi, Wissenschaftler in der Empa-Abteilung «Akustik / Lärmminderung», erklärt, was Lärm zu Lärm macht und warum wir Schall so unterschiedlich wahrnehmen.
mehr

 

 

NEST Podcast

Die Zukunft des Bauens

mehr

 

Follow us

on social media
 
 

 

Schreibende Pilze
Empa Forschern ist es gelungen, die Besiedlung von Pilzen in einheimischen Holzarten zu kontrollieren. Unlängst liessen sie den Moderfäulepilz Kretzschmaria deusta Wörter im Holz "schreiben": Wie Erstklässlerinnen und Erstklässler ist auch der Pilz noch etwas wackelig beim Schreiben bestimmter Buchstaben.
mehr

Quick Access

Das neuste EmpaQuarterly:
Fokus: Energie-Revolution