Skip to Content

NEST - Exploring the Future of Buildings

NEST is the modular research and innovation building of Empa and Eawag. At NEST, new technologies, materials and systems are tested, researched, further developed and validated under real conditions. Close cooperation with partners from research, industry and the public sector ensures that innovative construction and energy technologies are put onto the market faster. NEST contributes to making the use of resources and energy more sustainable and circular.

Innosuisse approves funding of the Energy Lab.

Innosuisse has approved 12 out of 64 applications within the NTN - Innovation Booster program. One of them: the Energy Lab., in which the NEST team is involved. It will be supported in the funding period 2021 - 2024 with a cost ceiling of 1.5 million Swiss francs.

Advancing the future of the construction industry together

The Innovation Park Central Switzerland and NEST are launching a new partnership. Together, innovative solutions for buildings and urban districts are to be designed, tested and made ready for the market.

An almost closed circle

The Urban Mining & Recycling unit is a benchmark for circular construction: it is 96% circular. This is shown by a recently published paper on the inclusion of the unit in Madaster's material register.

Selected success stories

"The partnership enables a worldwide unique product portfolio"

The NEST partners 3E Flow and Georg Fischer AG are launching a partnership. In autumn 2020, the two companies will bring an internationally unique product offer to the Swiss market that greatly optimizes the energy consumption of the water cycle.

"NEST offers startups a real environment equipped like a perfect laboratory"

The Zurich-based startup Oxygen at Work uses selected plant species to improve the air quality and energy efficiency of office buildings. In order to further optimise its services, the company works together with NEST. In the Meet2Create Unit, new plant concepts in combination with new technologies are being validated and further developed.

"At NEST we were able to show that our algorithm can save 25 percent energy"

Empa researchers used NEST as a research platform to test and further develop an innovative, self-learning heating control system. The result: the intelligent control system achieved a higher level of comfort with less energy.

NEST live

NEST virtuell

With the Simulation Dasher 360 you can go on a virtual discovery tour through the rooms of NEST. 

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution

Zum Inhalt wechseln

NEST – Gemeinsam an der Zukunft bauen

NEST ist das modulare Forschungs- und Innovationsgebäude der Empa und der Eawag. Im NEST werden neue Technologien, Materialien und Systeme unter realen Bedingungen getestet, erforscht, weiterentwickelt und validiert. Die enge Kooperation mit Partnern aus Forschung, Wirtschaft und öffentlicher Hand führt dazu, dass innovative Bau- und Energietechnologien schneller auf den Markt kommen. NEST trägt dazu bei, den Umgang mit Ressourcen und Energie nachhaltiger und kreislaufgerechter zu gestalten.

Positive Langzeitstudie im DFAB HOUSE

Seit der Fertigstellung des DFAB HOUSE im Frühjahr 2019 werden die digital gefertigten Bauteile kontinuierlich überwacht, um eventuelle Abweichungen feststellen zu können. Die ersten Resultate sind positiv: Die Veränderungen von Decken- und Wandelementen liegen im erwarteten Bereich.

Innosuisse bewilligt Finanzierung des Energy Lab.

Innosuisse hat 12 von 64 Gesuchen innerhalb des NTN – Innovation Booster Programms bewilligt. Mit dabei: das Energy Lab, bei dem auch das NEST-Team involviert ist. Es wird in der Förderperiode 2021 bis 2024 mit einer Kostenobergrenze von 1.5 Mio. Schweizer Franken unterstützt.

Ein beinahe geschlossener Kreislauf

Die Unit Urban Mining & Recycling ist ein Benchmark für zirkuläres Bauen und zu 96% kreislaufgerecht. Das zeigt ein kürzlich erschienenes Paper über die Aufnahme der Unit ins Materialkataster von Madaster.

Ausgewählte Success Stories

«Trotz umfassender Labortests kam ein grundlegendes Problem erst im NEST zum Vorschein»

Die Securiton AG hat in der NEST Unit «DFAB HOUSE» einen Hardware-Prototypen installiert. Durch die Validierung in einer realen Umgebung konnte ein Fehlverhalten festgestellt werden, das sich in den vorgängigen Labortests nicht gezeigt hatte. Dadurch konnte das Produkt weiterentwickelt und zur Marktreife gebracht werden.

«NEST bietet Start-ups eine reale Umgebung, die wie ein perfektes Labor ausgestattet ist»

Das Zürcher Start-up Oxygen at Work verbessert mit ausgewählten Pflanzenarten die Luftqualität und Energieeffizienz von Bürogebäuden. Um ihr Angebot weiter zu optimieren, arbeitet das Unternehmen mit NEST zusammen. In der Meet2Create Unit werden neue Pflanzenkonzepte im Zusammenspiel mit neuen Technologien validiert und weiterentwickelt. 

«Im NEST konnten wir zeigen, dass unsere Steuerung 25 Prozent Energie sparen kann»

Forschende der Empa nutzten NEST als Forschungsplattform um eine innovative, selbstlernende Heizungssteuerung zu testen und weiterzuentwickeln. Das Ergebnis: Durch die intelligente Steuerung konnte mit weniger Energie ein höherer Komfort erreicht werden. 

NEST live

NEST virtuell

Mit der Simulation Dasher 360 können Sie auf virtuelle Entdeckungstour durch die Räume des NEST gehen.

Quick Access

Das neuste EmpaQuarterly:
Fokus: Energie-Revolution