Vision Wood

The research and innovation unit Vision Wood stands for the visionary handling of wood as a natural resource in the building industry. The housing unit demonstrates that it is possible to combine the trusty old material with pioneering solutions for ecological construction and attractive design.

Vision Wood is home to a wealth of timber-based innovations. The unit was developed by the Department of Applied Wood Materials at Empa and in collaboration with ETH Zurich. It combines the latest developments in wood research with expertise in modern wood construction. With one eye on the goal, namely to broaden the range of applications for the renewable resource, the researchers give wood completely new functions and improve the properties of wood-based materials. The Vision Wood housing unit offers two doctoral students a home. As they exchange ideas and experiences with researchers from Empa and ETH Zurich, as well as the industrial partners involved, they test the suitability of the new applications for daily use as residents and users.

The Innovative Objects in the Vision Wood Unit
Binder-reduced Wood-Fibre
/documents/56024/686602/01_BindemittelarmeHolzfaserdaemmung.jpg/31d58f78-17e0-4bba-b528-a826fe8a8563?t=1469017517180

By using natural enzymes, researchers from Empa have succeeded in producing high-quality wood-fiber insulation plates. Thanks to laccase-catalyzed reactions, the synthetic binding agent (styrene butadiene copolymer) can be replaced fully by sustainable, environmentally friendly biopolymers (lignin compounds, modified starch). This method satisfies the demands for sustainability and answers consumer calls for healthy living and energy efficiency.

Partners: Empa, Pavatex
Surface Coating with Nanofibrillated Cellulose
/documents/56024/686602/02_Oberflaechenbeschichtung.jpg/b27dea84-f73b-408c-ab57-640c96371f3a?t=1469017525073

Nanofibrillated cellulose is used as a component in a novel surface coating for outdoor wood to increase its durability significantly compared to conventional coatings. It is especially expected to improve UV protection, waterproofing, resistance to wear and tear, and the prevention of cracks and microorganism infestations.

Partners: Empa

Antimicrobial Wood Surfaces
/documents/56024/686602/03_AntimikrobielleHolzoberflaechen.jpg/9ed475ea-b598-4892-a820-c05699d4e7b5?t=1469017504743

An enzymatic method patented by Empa enables bacteriostatic iodine in the wood structure to be sequestered without causing any washouts. The result is a wood surface that offers lasting protection from infestations by unwelcome microorganisms and thus increases the hygiene of wooden products significantly in bathrooms or kitchens.

Partners: Empa

Hydrophobic Wood
/documents/56024/686602/04_HydrophobesHolz.jpg/37b3fe41-2b8e-4874-b1f9-c1b57b11bb90?t=1469017627477

In a two-step process, waterproof monomers on the cell walls of the wood structure are polymerized in situ without damaging the wood lumen. This results in a waterproof property right down to the deeper layers while preserving the look of the untreated wood.

Partners: Empa, ETH Zurich

Magnetic Wood
/documents/56024/686602/05_MagnetisierbaresHolz.jpg/2a906901-c517-41ef-b957-ac0c1a484f2a?t=1469017537087

By inserting iron oxide nanoparticles in the wood structure, magnets are able to stick to the wood. Unlike a conventional magnetic material, the hierarchical structure of wood is used to induce direction-dependent magnetic behavior (anisotropy) in the novel hybrid material (wood/metal). As for its application, it is possible to configure wood elements in such a way that they can be directed selectively or reoriented as required when a magnetic field is applied.

Partners: Empa, ETH Zurich

Mineralized Wood
/documents/56024/686602/06_MineralisiertesHolz.jpg/b023ec69-baae-4f04-8662-2464b4f2a32f?t=1469017546057

Using the methods developed, it is possible to embed minerals deep inside the wooden structure. Their storage can be controlled and takes place either in the cell walls of the wood or in the cell lumen. As a result, the treated wood achieves greater flame resistance, which makes it just the ticket for use in areas where flame-retardant properties are required.

Partners: Empa, ETH Zurich, Schilliger Holz Industrie AG, Hess & Co AG, Pavatex

Composite Bamboo Material for Decking
/documents/56024/686602/07_Bambuskomposit.jpg/1c462947-e795-4d91-949c-8137c1010cfa?t=1469017586603

A new composite material has been produced using bamboo fibers and a bio-based resin. Similar in strength to steel, the material is extremely robust and, thanks to its weather resistance, just the ticket for use outdoors. Moreover, the material boasts a low gross density and thermal expansion. 

Partners: Empa, ETH Future City Lab, Rehau

Functionalized Cellulose in Silicone
/documents/56024/686602/08_FunktionalisierteZelluloseinSilikon.jpg/031f00a9-f5eb-497f-9631-5349366bb170?t=1469017341977

Nanocellulose fibers are used as thickening agents in sanitary silicone for sealing purposes. Here, the natural nanofibers substitute the conventional, inorganic and poorly degradable thickeners, and improve the mechanical properties of the silicone.

Partners: Empa, Falcone

Sustainable and Flame-retardant PU Foams
/documents/56024/686602/09_NachhaltigeUndFlammhemmendePUSchaeume.jpg/9111c805-0849-4ee7-bfa1-b623b01553ce?t=1469017594900

Halogen-free, flame-retardant additives for polyurethane (PU) foams based on sulfur and nitrogen compounds have been produced. This development enables conventional, toxic additives to be replaced while offering the same, if not better, protection for the material. Possible applications are especially envisaged for furniture, such as armchairs, sofas and beds.

Partners: Empa

Beech Plywood as a Material for Modular Construction
/documents/56024/686602/10_Buchenbrettsperrholz.jpg/182fc680-c033-4e74-8dac-428e9d344c34?t=1469017604133

Beech grows in abundance in Europe’s forests and, despite its high degree of mechanical strength, is bare-ly used in construction. Instead, it is primarily used as fuel. Fagus Jura intends to change this by producing plywood panels made of beech for timber structures. The considerable strength of these panels enables a particularly slender structure in modular timber construction.

Partners: Empa, Fagus Jura, Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU, Henkel

Decentralized Individual Room Ventilation
/documents/56024/686602/11_DezentraleEinzelraumlueftung.jpg/66e1a7ed-bfa6-499f-9376-4ba084d9940a?t=1469017611760

A small ventilation unit assigned to the window and integrated in the façade supplies the room in question with fresh air and recovers heat from the exhaust air. As the ventilation function is connected to the window opening and the quality of the air in the room via sensors, the mechanical ventilation only kicks in when it is really needed.

Partners: Ego Kiefer

Combined Home and Kitchen Ventilation
/documents/56024/686602/12_KombinierteWohnungsundKuechenlueftung.jpg/fee35614-7d77-4f6f-bdd8-1faa4fddf296?t=1469017619650

Wesco’s solution has revolutionized domestic ventilation. The ventilator in the kitchen now doubles up as the central extractor for exhaust air in the apartment and regulates the amount of waste air in coordination with the bathroom and WC ventilators, which are also integrated in the system. Fresh air is supplied by a decentralized system installed near the façade, which helps maintain the air balance in the apartment at all times.

Partners: Wesco

Optimized Energy Efficiency for the Perfect Indoor Climate
/documents/56024/686602/13_OptimierteEnergieeffizienzFuerBestesRaumklima.jpg/2d86b666-16db-4d34-853d-0ed9baa235fd?t=1469017635790

To optimize the energy efficiency, the lighting, sunshade, heating, ventilation and air conditioning controls are integrated in a regulator in the room automation. The room controller ecos504 by SAUTER regulates the lighting of the rooms via the DALI interface so that only as much energy is consumed as actually required.

Partners: Sauter

Testing New Regulation Concepts

The research character of the housing units enables regulation strategies and algorithms for the optimization of energy efficiency to be tested in the field. Consequently, direct results for changes to the programming are channeled into improving the regulation concepts.

Partners: Sauter

Vision Wood

Die Forschungs- und Innovationsunit Vision Wood steht für den visionären Umgang mit der natürlichen Ressource Holz im Bauwesen. Die Wohneinheit liefert den Beweis dafür, dass sich mit dem altbewährten Werkstoff zukunftsweisende Lösungen für ökologisches Bauen und ansprechendes Design verbinden lassen.

Vision Wood ist Heimat für eine Vielzahl von Holzinnovationen. Entwickelt wurde die Unit von der Abteilung Angewandte Holzforschung der Empa in Zusammenarbeit mit der ETH Zürich. Neueste Entwicklungen in der Holzforschung verbinden sich mit dem Know-how des modernen Holzbaus. Mit dem Ziel vor Augen, das Anwendungsspektrum der nachwachsenden Ressource zu vergrössern, geben die Forschenden dem Holz völlig neue Funktionen und verbessern die Eigenschaften von holzbasierten Materialien. Die Wohneinheit Vision Wood bietet zwei Doktorierenden ein Zuhause. Im Austausch mit den Forschenden der Empa und ETH Zürich und den beteiligten Wirtschaftspartnern testen sie als Bewohner und Nutzer die neuen Anwendungen auf ihre Alltagstauglichkeit testen.

Die Innovationsobjekte in der Unit Vision Wood
Bindemittelarme Holzfaserdämmung
/documents/56024/686602/01_BindemittelarmeHolzfaserdaemmung.jpg/31d58f78-17e0-4bba-b528-a826fe8a8563?t=1469017517180

Unter Verwendung natürlicher Enzyme gelang Forschern der Empa die Herstellung von Holzfaserdämmplatten mit hoher Plattenqualität. Durch Laccase-katalysierte Reaktionen kann das synthetische Bindemittel (Styrol-Butadien-Copolymer) komplett durch nachhaltige und umweltschonende Biopolymere (Ligninverbindungen, modifizierte Stärke) ersetzt werden. Mit diesem Verfahren werden die Forderungen an Nachhaltigkeit sowie die Ansprüche der Verbraucher in Bezug auf Wohngesundheit und Energieeffizienz erfüllt.

Partner: Empa, Pavatex
Oberflächenbeschichtung mit nanofibrillierter Zellulose
/documents/56024/686602/02_Oberflaechenbeschichtung.jpg/b27dea84-f73b-408c-ab57-640c96371f3a?t=1469017525073

Nanofibrillierte Zellulose wird als Komponente in einer neuartigen Oberflächenbeschichtung von Holz im Aussenbereich eingesetzt, um dessen Dauerhaftigkeit gegenüber herkömmlichen Beschichtungen deutlich zu erhöhen. Die erwarteten Verbesserungen betreffen insbesondere den UV-Schutz, die Wasserabweisung, den Abnutzungswiderstand sowie den Widerstand gegen Rissbildung und Besiedelung durch Mikroorganismen.

Partner:  Empa
Antimikrobielle Holzoberflächen
/documents/56024/686602/03_AntimikrobielleHolzoberflaechen.jpg/9ed475ea-b598-4892-a820-c05699d4e7b5?t=1469017504743

Ein von der Empa patentiertes enzymatisches Verfahren ermöglicht es, bakteriostatisch wirkendes Iod in der Holzstruktur zu binden, ohne dass es zu Auswaschungen kommt. Das Resultat ist eine Holzoberfläche, die anhaltenden Schutz gegen Besiedelung durch unerwünschte Mikroorganismen bietet und dadurch die Hygiene von Holzprodukten im Nassbereich oder in Küchen deutlich erhöht.

Partner: Empa

Hydrophobes Holz
/documents/56024/686602/04_HydrophobesHolz.jpg/37b3fe41-2b8e-4874-b1f9-c1b57b11bb90?t=1469017627477

In einem zweistufigen Prozess wird die In-situ-Polymerisation von wasserabweisenden Monomeren an den Zellwänden der Holzstruktur bewirkt, wobei das Holzlumen unbeeinträchtigt bleibt. Das Resultat ist eine wasserabweisende Eigenschaft des Holzes bis in tiefere Schichten bei gleichzeitigem Erhalt der Ästhetik des unbehandelten Holzes.

Partner: Empa, ETH Zurich

Magnetisierbares Holz
/documents/56024/686602/05_MagnetisierbaresHolz.jpg/2a906901-c517-41ef-b957-ac0c1a484f2a?t=1469017537087

Durch das Einbringen von Eisenoxid-Nanopartikeln in die Holzstruktur können Magnete am Holz haften. Im Gegensatz zu einem gewöhnlichen, magnetischen Material wird in dem neu geschaffenen Hybridmaterial (Holz/Metall) die hierarchische Struktur von Holz genutzt, so dass ein richtungsabhängiges, magnetisches Verhalten entsteht (Anisotropie). Für die Anwendung besteht die Möglichkeit, Holzelemente so zu gestalten, dass diese sich bei einem angelegten Magnetfeld je nach Wunsch selektiv ausrichten oder reorientieren lassen.

Partner: Empa, ETH Zurich

Mineralisiertes Holz
/documents/56024/686602/06_MineralisiertesHolz.jpg/b023ec69-baae-4f04-8662-2464b4f2a32f?t=1469017546057

Mit den entwickelten Methoden ist es möglich, Mineralien tief in die Holzstruktur einzubringen. Die Einlagerung kann gesteuert werden und findet entweder in den Holzzellwänden oder in den Zelllumen statt. In der Folge erreicht das behandelte Holz einen höheren Flammwiderstand und ermöglicht so, den Einsatz in Bereichen, wo flammhemmende Eigenschaften erforderlich sind.

Partner: Empa, ETH Zurich, Schilliger Holz Industrie AG, Hess & Co AG, Pavatex

Bambus-Kompositmaterial für die Terrasse
/documents/56024/686602/07_Bambuskomposit.jpg/1c462947-e795-4d91-949c-8137c1010cfa?t=1469017586603

Auf der Basis von Bambusfasern und einem biobasierten Harz wurde ein neues Komposit-Material hergestellt. Dieses Material weist äusserst hohe Festigkeitswerte auf und ist aufgrund der Witterungsbeständigkeit gut für Aussenanwendungen geeignet. Überdies weist das Material eine geringe Rohdichte und thermische Ausdehnung auf bei Festigkeitswerten, die mit Stahl vergleichbar sind.

Partner: Empa, ETH Future City Lab, Rehau

Funktionalisierte Zellulose in Silikon
/documents/56024/686602/08_FunktionalisierteZelluloseinSilikon.jpg/031f00a9-f5eb-497f-9631-5349366bb170?t=1469017341977

Nano-Zellulosefasern werden als Verdickungsmittel in Sanitärsilikon für Dichtungszwecke verwendet. Die natürlichen Nanofasern ersetzen dabei herkömmliche, nicht-organische und schlecht abbaubare Verdickungsmittel und verbessern die mechanischen Eigenschaften des Silikons. 

Partner: Empa, Falcone

Nachhaltige und flammhemmende PU-Schäume
/documents/56024/686602/09_NachhaltigeUndFlammhemmendePUSchaeume.jpg/9111c805-0849-4ee7-bfa1-b623b01553ce?t=1469017594900

Auf der Basis von Schwefel-Stickstoffverbindungen wurden halogenfreie, flammhemmende Zusätze für Polyurethanschäume (PU) hergestellt. Mit dieser Entwicklung können herkömmliche, giftige Zusätze ersetzt werden bei gleichem oder sogar besserem Schutz des Materials. Mögliche Anwendungen ergeben sich insbesondere bei Möbeln wie Sesseln, Sofas und Betten.

Partner: Empa

Buchenbrettsperrholz als Konstruktionsholz für den Modulbau
/documents/56024/686602/10_Buchenbrettsperrholz.jpg/182fc680-c033-4e74-8dac-428e9d344c34?t=1469017604133

Buche wächst in den europäischen Wäldern in grosser Menge und wird trotz ihrer hohen mechanischen Festigkeit kaum im Bauwesen eingesetzt, sondern primär verfeuert. Fagus Jura beabsichtigt, dies zu ändern und stellt Brettsperrholzplatten aus Buche für den konstruktiven Holzbau her. Aufgrund der hohen Festigkeit dieser Platten ist ein besonders schlanker Aufbau beim modularen Holzbau möglich.

Partner: Empa, Fagus Jura, Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU, Henkel

Dezentrale Einzelraumlüftung
/documents/56024/686602/11_DezentraleEinzelraumlueftung.jpg/66e1a7ed-bfa6-499f-9376-4ba084d9940a?t=1469017611760

Ein kleines, dem Fenster zugeordnetes und in der Fassade integriertes Lüftungsgerät versorgt den zugehörigen Raum mit Frischluft und gewinnt die Wärme aus der Abluft zurück. Der Lüftungsbetrieb ist über Sensoren an die Fensteröffnung und die Raumluftqualität gekoppelt, so dass die mechanische Lüftung nur dann läuft, wenn es wirklich nötig ist.

Partner: Ego Kiefer

Kombinierte Wohnungs- und Küchenlüftung
/documents/56024/686602/12_KombinierteWohnungsundKuechenlueftung.jpg/fee35614-7d77-4f6f-bdd8-1faa4fddf296?t=1469017619650

Mit der Lüftungslösung von Wesco wird in der Wohnungslüftung Neuland betreten. Der Dampfabzug in der Küche wird neu auch zur zentralen Abluftstelle in der Wohnung und regelt die Abluftmenge in Abhängigkeit vom Betrieb der ebenfalls ins System integrierten Bad/WC-Lüfter in den Nasszellen. Über dezentrale Zuluftgeräte, die nahe der Fassade angeordnet sind, wird der Frischluftbedarf gedeckt. Auf diese Weise ist die Luftbilanz in der Wohnung stets ausgeglichen.

Partner: Wesco

Optimierte Energieeffizienz für bestes Raumklima
/documents/56024/686602/13_OptimierteEnergieeffizienzFuerBestesRaumklima.jpg/2d86b666-16db-4d34-853d-0ed9baa235fd?t=1469017635790

Zur Optimierung der Energieeffizienz wird in der Raumautomation die Regelung der Gewerke Beleuchtung, Sonnenschutz sowie Heizung, Lüftung und Kälte in einem Regler integriert. Der Raumcontroller ecos504 von Sauter regelt über die DALI-Schnittstelle die Beleuchtung der Räume, so dass nur so viel Energie für Licht verbraucht wird, wie auch benötigt wird.

Partner: Sauter

Erprobung von neuen Regelkonzepten

Der Forschungscharakter der Wohneinheiten ermöglicht es, Regelstrategien und -algorithmen zur Optimierung der Energieeffizienz im Feld zu testen. So fliessen unmittelbare Resultate bei Veränderungen in der Programmierung in die Verbesserung der Regelkonzepte ein.

Partner: Sauter