Skip to Content

NEST - Exploring the Future of Buildings

NEST is the modular research and innovation building of Empa and Eawag. At NEST, new technologies, materials and systems are tested, researched, further developed and validated under real conditions. Close cooperation with partners from research, industry and the public sector ensures that innovative construction and energy technologies are put onto the market faster. NEST contributes to making the use of resources and energy more sustainable and circular.

Innovative glazing for NEST units

Saint-Gobain Switzerland is now a NEST partner. The company will initially equip two units, Sprint and HiLo, with glazing that covers a broad spectrum – from high-tech to re-use. Later on, the NEST team will launch more projects with various Saint-Gobain subsidiaries from the building materials sector to further advance sustainability in the construction sector.

Construction waste as a source of raw materials

Resources are becoming increasingly scarce, and at the same time millions of tons of construction waste end up in landfills. One possible solution: circular construction. ZDF has dedicated a program to this topic and visited the NEST unit "UMAR".

Sprint: A new NEST unit under construction

At NEST the new Sprint unit is currently under construction – an office unit built largely from recycled materials. Sprint aims to set new standards for circular construction. However, the office unit is also a reaction to the current COVID-19 situation, which made it clear that we need to adapt our buidings more flexible and quickly to changing needs.

Selected success stories

"Wastewater is a source of nutrients, energy and water"

Circular economy holds great potential when it comes to wastewater. At NEST, Eawag, Keramik Laufen AG and Vuna are working together to further advance this topic by processing urine into a marketable fertilizer. 

"NEST offers startups a real environment equipped like a perfect laboratory"

The Zurich-based startup Oxygen at Work uses selected plant species to improve the air quality and energy efficiency of office buildings. In order to further optimise its services, the company works together with NEST. In the Meet2Create Unit, new plant concepts in combination with new technologies are being validated and further developed.

"At NEST we were able to show that our algorithm can save 25 percent energy"

Empa researchers used NEST as a research platform to test and further develop an innovative, self-learning heating control system. The result: the intelligent control system achieved a higher level of comfort with less energy.

NEST live

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution

Zum Inhalt wechseln

NEST – Gemeinsam an der Zukunft bauen

NEST ist das modulare Forschungs- und Innovationsgebäude der Empa und der Eawag. Im NEST werden neue Technologien, Materialien und Systeme unter realen Bedingungen getestet, erforscht, weiterentwickelt und validiert. Die enge Kooperation mit Partnern aus Forschung, Wirtschaft und öffentlicher Hand führt dazu, dass innovative Bau- und Energietechnologien schneller auf den Markt kommen. NEST trägt dazu bei, den Umgang mit Ressourcen und Energie nachhaltiger und kreislaufgerechter zu gestalten.

Kick-Off des Energy Lab

Die Beschleunigung von Innovation ist zentral, damit die Energiewende gelingen kann. Das neu gegründete Energy Lab fördert deshalb die Entwicklung von Innovationen im Bereich der effizienten Erzeugung, Speicherung und Nutzung von erneuerbarer Energie. Das NEST-Team wirkt im Lab mit und bringt neben seinem Partnernetzwerk auch seine Expertise zu Energiefragen und Mobilität ein.

HiLo-Dach fertiggestellt

Auf der Baustelle der NEST-Unit HiLo ist ein wichtiger Meilenstein erreicht: Die doppelt-gekrümmte Dachschale ist fertiggestellt. Für die komplexe Betonkonstruktion haben ETH-Forschende zusammen mit Industriepartnern komplett neue Bauweisen entwickelt.

 

Positive Langzeitstudie im DFAB HOUSE

Seit der Fertigstellung des DFAB HOUSE im Frühjahr 2019 werden die digital gefertigten Bauteile kontinuierlich überwacht, um eventuelle Abweichungen feststellen zu können. Die ersten Resultate sind positiv: Die Veränderungen von Decken- und Wandelementen liegen im erwarteten Bereich.

Ausgewählte Success Stories

«Abwasser ist eine Quelle für Nährstoffe, Energie und Wasser»

Die Kreislaufwirtschaft birgt ein grosses Potenzial im Abwasserbereich. Im NEST arbeiten die Eawag, die Keramik Laufen AG und Vuna gemeinsam daran, dieses Thema weiter voranzutreiben, unter anderem indem sie Urin zu einem marktfähigen Dünger weiterverarbeiten. 

«NEST bietet Start-ups eine reale Umgebung, die wie ein perfektes Labor ausgestattet ist»

Das Zürcher Start-up Oxygen at Work verbessert mit ausgewählten Pflanzenarten die Luftqualität und Energieeffizienz von Bürogebäuden. Um ihr Angebot weiter zu optimieren, arbeitet das Unternehmen mit NEST zusammen. In der Meet2Create Unit werden neue Pflanzenkonzepte im Zusammenspiel mit neuen Technologien validiert und weiterentwickelt. 

«Im NEST konnten wir zeigen, dass unsere Steuerung 25 Prozent Energie sparen kann»

Forschende der Empa nutzten NEST als Forschungsplattform um eine innovative, selbstlernende Heizungssteuerung zu testen und weiterzuentwickeln. Das Ergebnis: Durch die intelligente Steuerung konnte mit weniger Energie ein höherer Komfort erreicht werden. 

NEST live

NEST virtuell

Mit der Simulation Dasher 360 können Sie auf virtuelle Entdeckungstour durch die Räume des NEST gehen.

Quick Access

Das neuste EmpaQuarterly:
Fokus: Energie-Revolution