Empa's Research Commission

The Research Commission is an advisory body to the Board of Directors with Empa-internal and -external members. It encourages the promotion and verification of scientific excellence at Empa.

FOKO A (Empa-internal)
  • Dr. Pierangelo Gröning, Head Dept. Advanced Materials and Surfaces
  • Dr. Erwin Hack, Deputy Head Reliability Science and Technology Lab
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Nowack, Technology and Society Lab
  • Dr. Stefan Reimann, Air Pollution / Environ. Technology Lab
  • Dr. Patrik Soltic, Automotive Powertrain Technologies Lab
  • Dr. Andrea Bergamini, Mechanical Integrity of Energy Systems Lab
  • Dr. Dirk Hegemann, Advanced Fibers Lab
  • Dr. Daniele Passerone, Lab nanotech@surfaces
  • Dr. Thomas Geiger, Applied Wood Materials Lab
  • Dr. Dorina Opris, Abt. Functional Polymers
FOKO B (external experts)
  • Prof. em. Dr. Thomas Egli, ETH Zürich / Eawag; GF MICROBES-IN-WATER GmbH
  • Dr. Karl Knop, Science Advisor, CSEM, Zürich
  • Prof. em. Dr. Alexander Wokaun, ETH Zürich / PSI
  • Prof. Dr. Dimos Poulikakos, Head of Energy Science Center (ESC), Institute of Energy Technology , ETH Zürich
  • Dr. Urs T. Dürig, IBM Research - Zurich, Rüschlikon
  • Prof. Dr. Rik Eggen, Deputy Director Eawag, Dübendorf