Sustainable Built Environment

The quality of our built environment is a key factor for a truly sustainable society. This includes high-quality and affordable living and working space, networks for transportation of people and goods and a reliable distribution of energy, water and information.

/documents/20659/66477/RFA_SBE_Overview.jpg/b84a732e-f7fb-4503-8c96-5d4a09e5481a?t=1446129211003
The new Empa Eawag guesthouse NEST is a modular building with a reinforced concrete backbone and interchangeable living and working units, which enable practical R&D on building materials and technologies, thermal insulation, housing facilities and energy management.

At Empa research on the built environment is carried out at different levels, starting from the development of new functional materials to the design of advanced systems and their integration into buildings and structures. At an even larger scale, we also look at entire cities and their interaction with the environment. Key issues at all levels are the minimization of the environmental footprint while still guaranteeing the same or better comfort and safety for the users.

Technology transfer to industry is fostered by large-scale demonstration projects. In both the construction and energy sector, it is nowadays extremely challenging to rapidly bring new ideas and products to the market. High investment costs in the construction business inhibit the companies’ risk propensity. Under the leadership of the two research institutes Empa and Eawag, the experimental building NEST has been built on their campus in Dübendorf. This novel guesthouse and working place aims to accelerate the market entry of new construction materials and building technology innovations. NEST offers researchers and research-driven companies the opportunity to validate new technologies at full-scale; innovative materials and systems can thus be implemented and monitored under real-world conditions.

Prof. Dr. Giovanni Terrasi

Prof. Dr. Giovanni Terrasi
Head of Laboratory

Phone: +41 58 765 4117

Sustainable Built Environment

Die Qualität der gebauten Umwelt ist ein wesentlicher Faktor für eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft, die diesen Namen zu Recht verdient. Dazu gehören erschwingliche, qualitativ hochwertige Räumlichkeiten zum Wohnen und Arbeiten, Verkehrsnetze für Personen und Güter sowie eine zuverlässige Versorgung mit Energie, Wasser und Informationen.
/documents/20659/66477/RFA_SBE_Overview.jpg/b84a732e-f7fb-4503-8c96-5d4a09e5481a?t=1446129211003
Das neue NEST-Gebäude von Empa und Eawag für Gastwissenschaftler ist modular aufgebaut. Es ver-fügt über ein Betonskelett mit austauschbaren Wohn- und Arbeitsmodulen, um praktische Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten in den Bereichen Baumaterialien, Gebäudetechnologien, Wärmedämmung, Wohnraumausstattung und Energiemanagement zu ermöglichen.

Die Forschungstätigkeit der Empa konzentriert sich auf unterschiedliche Ebenen und reicht von der Entwicklung neuer Materialien über die Konzeption komplexer technischer Systeme bis zur ihrer Integration in Gebäude und andere Strukturen. Darüber hinaus werden ganze Städte und ihre Interaktion mit der Umwelt betrachtet. Zu den wichtigsten Themen auf allen Ebenen gehören die Minimierung von Umwelteinwirkungen und die Verbesserung von Komfort und Sicherheit für die Nutzer der gebauten Umwelt.

Umfassende Demonstrationsprojekte sollen den Technologietransfer zur Industrie fördern, denn sowohl in der Baubranche als auch im Energiesektor ist es heutzutage eine Herausforderung, neue Ideen und Produkte schnell auf den Markt zu bringen. Häufig stehen der Risikofreudigkeit der Unternehmen hohe Investitionskosten im Wege. Unter der Federführung der beiden Forschungseinrichtungen Empa und Eawag entsteht gerade die experimentelle Plattform NEST auf dem Campus in Dübendorf. Mit dem neuen Gebäude für Gastwissenschaftler soll die Markteinführung von neuen Baumaterialien und von innovativer Gebäudetechnik beschleunigt werden. NEST bietet Forschern und forschungsorientierten Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, neue Technologien vollumfänglich zu testen: Innovative Materialien und Systeme können hier erstmals unter realen Bedingungen eingesetzt und erprobt werden.