EmpaQuarterly 2021

What are the hot topics in research and technology? What is Empa’s role in all of this? How are inventions from the lab turned into innovations that succeed in the market? Empa Quarterly, our magazine for research and innovation, provides answers to these questions with interviews, portraits and exciting reports from our labs.
# 73 / October 2021 / Focus: Building smarter
/documents/56164/18239252/EQ73+Cover+EN+Rand.jpg/4aa00480-6057-4b28-80b7-bb06ec7b9bfe?t=1633255966460

Efficient construction is the focus of this issue. In record time, an office wing was built at Empa from scrap materials collected for us by component hunters. At the same time, the latest design and manufacturing methods have given rise to the HiLo unit - a revolution in concrete construction. Also: Infrared cameras on a chip, gentle cancer therapy with nanoparticles, a microscopy expert - and a dead eagle owl. Image: iStockphoto

Read the latest EmpaQuarterly online or download the pdf-version.

# 72 / July 2021 / Focus: Better Fibers
/documents/56164/17471769/EQ72+Cover+EN+280.jpg/8c0e1e6d-f6ec-4e5f-819b-b18680921648?t=1625662155913

This issue covers Empa's new achievements in fiber- and textile research: soft cotton becomes fireproof fabric, and liquid filled polymer can be used as a data line. Empa fibers detect Alzheimer’s and make jackets from recycled plastic possible. Image: iStockphoto

Read the latest EmpaQuarterly online or download the pdf-version.

# 71 / April 2021 / Focus: Energy Renovation
/documents/56164/16644376/EQ71+Cover+EN+280.jpg/78dfa173-0ce4-41e6-a411-7ac7a9c25d71?t=1618404140597

Heating and cooling of buildings is one of the largest sources of CO2 in Switzerland with its 1.8 million residential buildings. If the energy turnaround is to succeed, most of them will have to be renovated. The current issue of Empa Quarterly illustrates what can be done and how to set priorities.

Read the latest EmpaQuarterly online or download the pdf-version.

 

# 70 / January 2021 / Focus: Clean new car world
/documents/56164/15698405/EQ70+Cover+EN+Archiv+mit+Rahmen/e3674230-9df2-437d-bc6a-edc0a46b080d?t=1611760499510

Road traffic generates pollution and consumes energy. In the latest EmpaQuarterly, you can read what materials scientists can do to change that. Empa is researching road surfaces that are held together by twine instead of asphalt. We're developing truck fuel from solar energy, letting single-family homes hoard electricity - to fill electric cars. And we are designing an eye test for self-driving cars. Because they're getting older, too.

Read the latest EmpaQuarterly online or download the pdf-version.

EmpaQuarterly 2021

Quels sont les sujets d'actualité en recherche et technologie ? Quel est le rôle de l'Empa dans tout cela ? Comment les inventions du laboratoire sont-elles transformées en innovations qui réussissent sur le marché ? EmpaQuarterly, notre magazine pour la recherche et l'innovation, répond à ces questions par des interviews, des portraits et des rapports passionnants de nos laboratoires.
# 72 / July 2021 / Focus: Better Fibers
/documents/56164/17471769/EQ72+Cover+FR+280/a1d0fcef-2aea-4058-b316-4ee6684bdf57?t=1625662509157

Ce magazine présente les nouvelles réalisations de l'Empa dans le domaine de la recherche sur les fibres et les textiles : le coton souple devient un tissu ignifuge et un polymère rempli de liquide peut être utilisé comme ligne de transmission de données. Les fibres de l'Empa détectent la maladie d'Alzheimer et permettent de fabriquer des vestes en plastique recyclé. Image: iStockphoto

Lisez le dernier numéro en ligne ou téléchargez le pdf.


# 71 / avril 2021 / Focus: Rénover le bilan énergétique
/documents/56164/16644376/EQ71+Cover+FR+280.jpg/6cae3682-f51a-46fb-8927-e28c1eee2b88?t=1618404140957

Le chauffage et la climatisation des bâtiments sont l’une des principales sources de CO2 en Suisse. Il y a 1,8 million de bâtiments résidentiels. Si l’on veut réussir le tournant énergétique, la plupart d’entre eux devront être rénovés. Cette brochure montre ce qui peut être fait et comment les priorités peuvent être déterminées.

Lisez le dernier numéro en ligne ou téléchargez le pdf.


 

# 70 / Janvier 2021 / Focus: Nouveau monde de l'automobile
/documents/56164/15698405/EQ70+Cover+FR+Archiv/ba92ed36-0c2c-411a-9be0-139a229adf70?t=1611762384240

La circulation routière pollue et consomme de l'énergie. Dans le dernier EmpaQuarterly, vous pouvez lire ce que les scientifiques peuvent faire pour changer cela. L'Empa fait des recherches sur les revêtements routiers qui sont maintenus par de la ficelle au lieu de l'asphalte. Nous développons un carburant pour camions à partir de l'énergie solaire, et nous laissons les maisons individuelles accumuler l'électricité - afin d'alimenter les voitures électriques. Et nous sommes en train de mettre au point un test visuel pour les voitures à conduite autonome. Parce que même ces capteurs vieillissent.

Lisez le dernier numéro en ligne ou téléchargez le pdf.