EmpaQuarterly 2022

What are the hot topics in research and technology? What is Empa’s role in all of this? How are inventions from the lab turned into innovations that succeed in the market? Empa Quarterly, our magazine for research and innovation, provides answers to these questions with interviews, portraits and exciting reports from our labs.
# 77 / October 2022 / Focus: Advanced Manufacturing
/documents/56164/22492311/Cover_EQ77_EN-web-mit-rand.jpg/8d139aea-f15e-4e96-94bf-04c6d403c0b1?t=1664461182035

Advanced Manufacturing (AM), is focus of the current issue: The aim is to understand these new, advanced manufacturing processes such as 3D printing down to the very last detail, i.e. so well that one can simulate them and thus vary and adapt them. Only then can AM be successfully put into practice. Also in this issue: an app called "Your Virtual Cold Chain Assistant" to avoid food waste and a Virtual Reality (VR) glove, tailor-made and fabricated automatically via 3D-printing.

Read the latest EmpaQuarterly online or download the pdf-version.

# 76 / July 2022 / Focus: Next generation materials
/documents/56164/21622962/Cover_Empa_Quarterly76_EN_web-mit-Rand.jpg/3110000a-fb92-4e91-8604-d4a93b657ca4?t=1657108236223

Advanced Manufacturing (AM), is focus of the current issue: The aim is to understand these new, advanced manufacturing processes such as 3D printing down to the very last detail, i.e. so well that one can simulate them and thus vary and adapt them. Only then can AM be successfully put into practice. Also in this issue: an app called "Your Virtual Cold Chain Assistant" to avoid food waste and a Virtual Reality (VR) glove, tailor-made and fabricated automatically via 3D-printing.

Read the latest EmpaQuarterly online or download the pdf-version.

# 75 / April 2022 / Focus: Funding research
/documents/56164/20897774/EQ75-Cover-EN-final2/56e2f14f-e71d-4b24-8ff4-0e092cb698b9?t=1657122573877

Researchers at Empa have developed unique carbon materials with quite astonishing, hitherto unattained electronic and magnetic properties, which one day could be used to build quantum computers with novel architectures. A million dollar grant from the Werner Siemens Foundation for the next ten years now gives this visionary project an unusually long research horizon, greatly increasing the prospects for success. Also in this issue: Empa research in space and a research initiative to develop CO2-negative processes.

Read the latest EmpaQuarterly online or download the pdf-version.

EmpaQuarterly 2022

Quels sont les sujets d'actualité en recherche et technologie ? Quel est le rôle de l'Empa dans tout cela ? Comment les inventions du laboratoire sont-elles transformées en innovations qui réussissent sur le marché ? EmpaQuarterly, notre magazine pour la recherche et l'innovation, répond à ces questions par des interviews, des portraits et des rapports passionnants de nos laboratoires.
# 77 / ctobre 2022 / Focus: Advanced Manufacturing
/documents/56164/22492311/Cover_EQ77_FR-web-mit-rand.jpg/74505134-75ba-41e3-abb0-f062f576d4e5?t=1664460177817

"Advanced Manufacturing" (AM) est au centre du présent numéro : L'objectif est de comprendre ces nouveaux procédés de fabrication avancés, comme l'impression 3D, jusque dans les moindres détails, c'est-à-dire si bien que l'on puisse les simuler et ainsi les varier et les adapter. Ce n'est qu'à ce moment-là que l'on pourra mettre en pratique la GA avec succès. Également dans ce numéro : une application appelée "Your Virtual Cold Chain Assistant" pour éviter le gaspillage alimentaire et un gant de réalité virtuelle (RV), fabriqué sur mesure et automatiquement par impression 3D.

Lisez le dernier numéro en ligne ou téléchargez le pdf.

# 76 / julliet 2022 / Focus: Matériaux de la prochaine génération
/documents/56164/21622962/Cover_Empa_Quarterly76_FR_web-mit-Rand.jpg/8844e82f-ade5-4012-824e-039469ce3242?t=1657108235967

C'est l'histoire de trois équipes de scientifiques de l'Empa, qui vont audacieusement là où personne n'est allé auparavant. La première équipe explore de nouveaux mondes étranges (du point de vue de la science des matériaux, bien sûr), en fabriquant des cristaux à partir d'un mélange sauvage d'ingrédients - des matériaux dits de haute entropie. L'équipe 2 invente un nouveau procédé d'impression 3D, désormais breveté, ainsi qu'un étrange transistor doté d'une sorte d'effet mémoire. L'équipe trois est confrontée à d'innombrables obstacles en s'attaquant à la mise à l'échelle de procédés pour la production industrielle de batteries à l'état solide.

Lisez le dernier numéro en ligne ou téléchargez le pdf.

# 75 / avril 2022 / Focus : Pour la recherche
/documents/56164/20897774/Cover_EQ75_FR-web.jpg/fd88d36a-208b-4b1f-8f30-547b552898eb?t=1650376271320

Des chercheurs de l‘Empa ont développé des matériaux spéciaux en carbone aux propriétés électroniques et magnétiques tout à fait étonnantes et jusqu‘ ici inégalées, qui pourraient servir à la construction d‘ordinateurs quantiques. Une contribution de la Fondation Werner Siemens à hauteur de plusieurs millions pour les dix prochaines années permet désormais d‘ envisager ce projet visionnaire sur un horizon de recherche inhabituellement long. Au sommaire également de ce numéro : la recherche de l'Empa dans l'espace et une initiative de recherche visant à développer des procédés négatifs en termes de CO2.

Lisez le dernier numéro en ligne ou téléchargez le pdf.