Skip to Content

Swiss m4m Center

From titanium powder to a hip socket

Jul 6, 2021 | NORBERT RAABE / IMAGES: NICOLAS ZONVI

Additive Manufacturing, AM in brief, is fascinating: As if by magic, complex workpieces grow in 3D printers: layer by layer by layer ... without human intervention, as it may seem at first glance. But the technology is demanding and requires a lot of manual work with a sure touch, as a visit to the expert team at the Swiss m4m Center in Bettlach shows. See for yourself in an interactive reportage.

/documents/56164/17384100/EQ72+m4m-10-870-450.jpg/bf5e2b97-889c-4665-9566-cbf35c048407?t=1624893865497
Between digital planning and powerful manual labor: Empa specialist Patrick Stämpfli at the Swiss m4m Center in Bettlach. Image: Empa

The Technology Transfer Center in Bettlach near Solothurn does not work for profit, but promotes 3D printing in the medical technology industry – with further training and innovative projects. The target group are Swiss SMEs that lack experience and equipment for this promising technology.

Opened in September 2020, the “Swiss m4m Center” has been certified since mid-April according to the ISO 13485:2016 standard for medical technology products. This step now allows professionals to manufacture real products with the production line they had previously installed and tested. 

A virtual visit to the Swiss m4m Center
See for yourself how an implant in being manufactured. Follow the numbers on the interactive image below and track the Additive Manufacturing process of a hip implant – from powder to sterilized product for the operating theater.
AM-TTC Alliance
The Swiss m4m Center is part of the AM-TTC Alliance (Advanced Manufacturing Technology Transfer Centers), which was founded on the initiative of the Empa and has a mandate from the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation to evaluate applications and monitor the development of AM-TTC centers. Besides the Swiss m4m Center, there is currently ANAXAM (Analytics with Neutrons and X-Rays for Advanced Manufacturing) at the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI). Later this year, the AM-TTC Alliance will launch a call with the goal of establishing two to three additional centers. Currently, the Alliance comprises 22 member organizations, among them, in addition to Empa, ETH Zurich, EPFL and other research institutions, companies such as ABB and Siemens, and industrial associations.
More information: www.swissm4m.ch and www.am-ttc.ch

Further information

Dr. Pierangelo Gröning
Departement Advanced Materials and Surfaces
Phone +41 58 765 40 04
pierangelo.groening@empa.ch

Nicolas Bouduban
CEO Swiss m4m Center
Phone +41 79 601 32 38
nicolas.bouduban@swissm4m.ch

Editor / Media contact

Norbert Raabe
Communication
Phone +41 58 765 44 54

Molecular diagnosis

Detecting Alzheimer's in blood

Empa researcher Peter Nirmalraj wants to capture images of Alzheimer's peptides with unprecedented precision. This could allow new insights into the molecular pathogenesis of the neurodegenerative disease – and perhaps open the way to new therapies.
>>>>

Better fibers

A jacket from a jacket from a jacket ...

Manufacture, wear, wash, incinerate: This typical life cycle of garments, which pollutes the environment, is to be changed in the future – towards principles of circular economy with recycling at its core. Using an outdoor jacket made from PET bottles and recycled materials, Empa researchers have investigated whether the product actually delivers what the idea promises. 
>>>>

Interview

"Recycling is not always sustainable"

Circular economy and recycling in the textile sector: Switzerland and the EU want to move towards a sustainable industry. The basis for this has been investigated at Empa for quite some time. In an interview with Empa Quaterly, sustainability expert Claudia Som talks about opportunities, pitfalls and ideas for the future.
>>>>

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution

Saut au contenu

Reportage photo sur l'impression 3D

De la poudre de titane à la prothèse de hanche

4 nov. 2021 | NORBERT RAABE / IMAGES: NICOLAS ZONVI

La fabrication additive est fascinante : comme par magie, des pièces complexes poussent dans des imprimantes 3D : couche par couche - sans intervention humaine, du moins comme il semble à première vue. Mais la technologie est exigeante et nécessite beaucoup de travail manuel avec un instinct sûr, comme le montre une visite de l'équipe du "Swiss m4m Center" à Bettlach.

/documents/56164/17384100/EQ72+m4m-10-870-450.jpg/bf5e2b97-889c-4665-9566-cbf35c048407?t=1624893865497
Entre planification numérique et travail manuel puissant : Le spécialiste de l'Empa Patrick Stämpfli au Swiss m4m Center à Bettlach. Image : Empa

Le centre de transfert de technologie de Bettlach, près de Soleure, n’a pas de but lucratif, mais promeut l’impression 3D dans le secteur de la technologie médicale – avec des formations continues et des projets innovants. Le groupe cible est constitué de PME suisses qui manquent d’expérience et d’équipement pour cette technologie prometteuse.

Ouvert en septembre 2020, le «Swiss m4m Center» est certifié depuis mi-avril – selon la norme ISO 13485:2016 pour les produits de technologie médicale. Cette étape permet désormais aux professionnels de fabriquer des produits réels avec la ligne de production qu’ils avaient préalablement installée et testée.

Une visite virtuelle du Swiss m4m
Voyez par vous-même comment un implant est fabriqué. Suivez les chiffres sur l'image interactive ci-dessous et suivez le processus de fabrication additive d'une prothèse de hanche - de la poudre au produit stérilisé pour le bloc opératoire.
AM-TTC Alliance
Le «Swiss m4m Center» fait partie de l’«AM-TTC Alliance» («Advanced Manufacturing Technology Transfer Centers»), créé suite à l’initiative de l’Empa, est mandatée par le Secrétariat d’État à l’éducation, à la recherche et à l’innovation pour évaluer les demandes et suivre le développement des centres AM-TTC. Outre le «Swiss m4m Center», il existe actuellement l’ANAXAM (Analytics with Neutrons and X-Rays for Advanced Manufacturing) à l’Institut Paul Scherrer. Cette année, l’Alliance lancera un appel dans le but de créer deux ou trois autres centres. Les membres de l’Alliance comprennent 22 organisations; parmi elles, outre l’Empa, l’ETH Zurich, l’EPF Lausanne et d’autres institutions de recherche, des entreprises comme ABB et Siemens, ainsi que des associations industrielles.
De plus amples informations sont disponibles sur les sites www.am-ttc.ch et www.swissm4m.ch
Informations

Dr. Pierangelo Gröning
Direction de l'Empa
Chef du département Matériaux modernes, leurs surfaces et interfaces
Tél. +41 58 765 40 04
pierangelo.groening@empa.ch

Nicolas Bouduban
CEO Swiss m4m Center
Tél. +41 79 601 32 38
nicolas.bouduban@swissm4m.ch


Rédaction / Contact médias
Norbert Raabe

Communication
Tél. +41 58 765 44 54
redaktion@empa.ch




Follow us
 
Le diagnostic moléculaire

Détecter la démence dans le sang

Le chercheur de l'Empa Peter Nirmalraj veut imager les peptides avec une précision sans précédent - et ainsi mieux comprendre la pathogenèse moléculaire de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Cela pourrait ouvrir la voie à de nouvelles thérapies.
>>>>

De meilleures fibres

Une veste d'une veste d'une veste d'une veste ...

Fabriquer, porter, laver, incinérer : Ce cycle de vie typique des vêtements, qui pollue l'environnement, doit être modifié à l'avenir - vers des principes d'économie circulaire avec recyclage. A l'aide d'une veste de plein air fabriquée à partir de bouteilles en PET et de matériaux recyclés, les chercheurs de l'Empa ont examiné si le produit tient effectivement ses promesses.
>>>>

Interview

"Le recyclage n'est pas automatiquement durable"

L'économie circulaire et le recyclage dans l'industrie textile : la Suisse et l'UE veulent promouvoir une gestion durable. L'Empa effectue depuis des années des recherches à ce sujet. L'experte en durabilité Claudia Som parle dans une interview des opportunités, des pièges et des idées pour l'avenir.
>>>>

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution