Empa: Partner of the "sitem-insel" Competence Center

Closer to the patient

Oct 24, 2019 | CORNELIA ZOGG
The first national competence center for translational medicine and entrepreneurship has opened in Bern. As a hub for research and innovation, "sitem-insel" is home to several start-ups, companies and scientists. These include an Empa research team whose projects aim to bring medical innovations from the laboratory directly to patients more quickly.
/documents/56164/10845493/sitem-insel+Stopperbild.jpg/bc23fcd7-4b40-471a-9deb-49ec20baf74f?t=1571899481273
"sitem-insel" offers new synergies to start-ups, companies and research institutions in the field of medi-cine. Picture: sitem-insel

"sitem-insel" is a high-tech building. Walls made of glass and open meeting zones promote togetherness and the exchange of all partners who have rented a space there since the opening at the end of August. As a unique competence center" sitem-insel" supports the transition from research results or prototypes in the medical field to marketable products. The University Hospital of Bern in the immediate vicinity plays a key role in this and offers optimum conditions for an Empa research team to advance its projects as closely as possible to patients and using the latest technologies. "sitem-insel is for us a unique platform with a unique exchange function," says Alex Dommann, head of Empa's Materials meet Life department. Researchers receive samples directly from the hospital, can prepare them in the modern laboratories of "sitem-insel" and then forward them to the Empa sites in St. Gallen, Dübendorf and Thun. And where a path leads to, there is also a path back. Sooner or later, research at Empa will find its way back to the patient's bed.

/documents/56164/10845493/Sitem-insel+Geb%C3%A4ude.jpg/01d5d109-d9e9-4ee8-a9c7-1b35725fa3c5?t=1571899480273
The modern building of the "sitem-insel" captivates with open rooms and lots of glass. It was opened on 30 August 2019. Picture: sitem-insel
Several projects planned
Meanwhile, Empa researchers are planning several projects on "sitem-insel" - all in collaboration with the University of Bern or the Inselspital itself. Antonia Neels from the Center for X-Ray Analytics analyses defects in distant cochlear implants. Giuseppino Fortunato from the lab "Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles" is working with the Inselspital on an improved hernia network with antibacterial effects. In collaboration with the University of Bern, Jakob Schwiedrzik and Johann Michler from the lab "Mechanics of Materials and Nanostructures" are developing improved clinical predictions for fracture risks. Hans Hug from the lab "Magnetic and Functional Thin Films" is also working on cochlear implants, but not on the implant itself; he is rather researching ways of optimising the drill needed to insert the implant. All these projects benefit enormously from the immediate proximity of the Inselspital, and the premises of the new and modern building provide space for the necessary exchange.
Further information

Prof. Dr. Alex Dommann
Materials meet Life
Phone +41 58 765 74 01


Editor / Media contact

Cornelia Zogg
Communication
Phone +41 58 765 45 99


Links

Empa: Partner des Kompetenzzentrums «sitem-insel»

Näher beim Patienten

24.10.2019 | CORNELIA ZOGG

In Bern hat das erste nationale Kompetenzzentrum für translationale Medizin und Unternehmertum eröffnet. Das sitem-insel beherbergt als Hub für Forschung und Innovation mehrere Start-ups, Unternehmen sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Darunter auch ein Forschungsteam der Empa, das mit seinen Projekten medizinische Innovationen schneller vom Labor direkt zu den Patienten bringen will.

/documents/56164/10845493/sitem-insel+Stopperbild.jpg/bc23fcd7-4b40-471a-9deb-49ec20baf74f?t=1571899481273
sitem-insel bietet Start-Ups, Unternehmen und Forschungsinstitutionen im Bereich der Medizin neue Synergien. Bild: sitem-insel

sitem-insel ist ein High-tech-Gebäude. Wände aus Glas und offene Begegnungszonen fördern das Miteinander und den Austausch aller Partner, die sich dort seit der Eröffnung Ende August eingemietet haben. Als einzigartiges Kompetenzzentrum unterstützt sitem-insel den Übergang von Forschungsergebnissen oder Prototypen im Medizinbereich zu marktfähigen Produkten. Das Universitätsspital Bern in unmittelbarer Nähe spielt dabei eine tragende Rolle und bietet für ein Forschungsteam der Empa optimale Bedingungen, um dessen Projekte möglichst patientennah und mit den modernsten Technologien voran zu bringen. «sitem-insel ist für uns eine einmalige Plattform mit einer einzigartigen Austauschfunktion», so Alex Dommann, Leiter des Empa-Departements «Materials meet Life». Forschende erhalten direkt Proben aus dem Spital, können diese in den modernen Labors des sitem-insel aufbereiten und anschliessend an die Empa-Standorte in St. Gallen, Dübendorf und Thun weiterleiten. Und wo ein Weg hinführt, da führt auch ein Weg zurück. Forschung an der Empa findet so früher oder später auch wieder zurück ans Bett der Patienten.

/documents/56164/10845493/Sitem-insel+Geb%C3%A4ude.jpg/01d5d109-d9e9-4ee8-a9c7-1b35725fa3c5?t=1571899480273
Das moderne Gebäude des sitem-insel besticht durch offene Räume und viel Glas. Es wurde am 30. August 2019 eröffnet. Bild: sitem-insel
Mehrere Projekte geplant

Im sitem-insel sind derweil mehrere Projekte von Empa-Forschenden geplant – alle in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Bern oder dem Inselspital selbst. Antonia Neels vom Zentrum für Röntgenanalytik analysiert Defekte an entfernten Cochlea-Implantaten. Giuseppino Fortunato aus der Abteilung «Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles» arbeitet mit dem Inselspital an einem verbesserten Hernien-Netz mit antibakterieller Wirkung. In einer Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Bern entwickeln Jakob Schwiedrzik und Johann Michler von der Abteilung «Mechanics of Materials and Nanostructures» verbesserte klinische Vorhersagen für Frakturrisiken. Ebenfalls mit Cochlea-Implantaten beschäftigt sich Hans Hug aus der Abteilung «Magnetic and Functional Thin Films», allerdings nicht mit dem Implantat selbst; er forscht vielmehr an Möglichkeiten, den Bohrer, der für das Einsetzen des Implantats benötigt wird, zu optimieren. All diese Projekte profitieren enorm von der unmittelbaren Nähe zum Inselspital, und die Räumlichkeiten des neuen und modernen Gebäudes schaffen Platz für den nötigen Austausch.

Informationen

Prof. Dr. Alex Dommann
Materials meet Life
Tel. +41 58 765 74 01


Redaktion / Medienkontakt

Cornelia Zogg
Kommunikation
Tel. +41 58 765 45 99