ETH Zürich ernennt Empa-Forscher

Titularprofessur für René Rossi

18.05.2020 | CORNELIA ZOGG

Die ETH Zürich hat René Rossi den Professorentitel verliehen. Der Empa-Forscher ist bereits seit 1992 an der Empa tätig, leitet die Abteilung «Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles» in St. Gallen und ist stellvertretender Leiter des Departements Materials meet Life.

/documents/56164/11626380/Rene+Rossi+Titularprofessur/c77df1d7-b543-435c-85c7-8be2454d9b19?t=1589804425540
Die ETH Zürich ernannte René Rossi zum Titularprofessoren. Empa / Philippe Rossier, Ringier

René Rossi wurde von der ETH Zürich letzte Woche zum Titularprofessor ernannt. Rossi leitet die Empa-Abteilung «Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles» in St. Gallen und ist zudem an der ETH Zürich als Lehrbeauftragter am Departement Gesundheitswissenschaften und Technologie tätig. Sein Forschungsgebiet umfasst primär die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Materialien und dem menschlichen Körper – darunter vor allem im Bereich Textilien und deren Einsatz für medizinische Anwendungen. So ist er unter anderem Teil der COVID-19 Science Task Force des Bundes, die mit der Weiterentwicklung von Schutz- und Atemmasken betraut ist.

Nach dem Studium der physikalischen Elektronik an der Université de Neuchâtel kam er 1992 zur Empa. Dort leitete er zahlreiche Projekte, ehe er 2003 die Leitung der Abteilung «Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles» übernahm. 2006 begann er seine Lehrtätigkeit an der ETH Zürich, die ihn nun mit einer Titularprofessur ausgezeichnet hat. Seit 2016 ist er ausserdem Gastprofessor an der Université de Haute-Alsace in Mulhouse, Vorstandsmitglied des Vereins Startfeld zur Förderung von Start-ups und Mitglied des Geschäftsleitenden Ausschusses der School of Medicine der Universität St. Gallen.

Information

Prof. Dr. René Rossi
Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles
Tel, +41 58 765 77 65

 


Redaktion / Medienkontakt
Cornelia Zogg
Kommunikation
Tel. +41 58 765 45 99

ETH Zurich appoints Empa researchers

Titular professorship for René Rossi

May 18, 2020 | CORNELIA ZOGG

ETH Zurich has awarded René Rossi the title of professor. The Empa researcher has been working at Empa since 1992, heads the "Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles" lab in St. Gallen and is deputy head of the Materials meet Life department.

/documents/56164/11626380/Rene+Rossi+Titularprofessur/c77df1d7-b543-435c-85c7-8be2454d9b19?t=1589804425540
ETH Zurich appointed René Rossi as a titular professor. Empa / Philippe Rossier, Ringier

René Rossi was appointed titular professor by ETH Zurich last week. Rossi heads the Empa lab "Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles" in St. Gallen and is also a lecturer at ETH Zurich in the Department of Health Sciences and Technology. His field of research is primarily concerned with the interactions between materials and the human body - particularly in the field of textiles and their use for medical applications. Among other things, he is part of the COVID-19 Science Task Force of the Swiss Confederation, which is responsible for the further development of protective and breathing masks.

After studying physical electronics at the Université de Neuchâtel, he joined Empa in 1992. There he managed numerous projects before he became head of the "Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles" department in 2003. In 2006 he began teaching at ETH Zurich, where he has now been awarded a titular professorship. Since 2016 he has also been a visiting professor at the Université de Haute-Alsace in Mulhouse, a member of the board of the Startfeld Association for the Promotion of Start-ups and a member of the Executive Committee of the School of Medicine at the University of St. Gallen.

Further information

Prof. Dr. René Rossi
Biomimetic Membranes and Textiles
Phone +41 58 765 77 65

 


Editor / Media contact
Cornelia Zogg
Communications
Phone +41 58 765 45 99