«Distinguished Senior Researcher»

Auszeichnung für Empa-Umweltwissenschaftler

14.03.2017 | RAMONA RONNER
Auf den 1. Februar 2017 ist ein vierter Empa-Forscher zum «Distinguished Senior Researcher» ernannt worden. Mit diesem prestigeträchtigen Titel darf sich neu der Umweltwissenschaftler Bernd Nowack aus der Abteilung «Technologie und Gesellschaft» schmücken.
/documents/56164/1048170/14_BerndNowack_0025.jpg/ee3b8c4d-caec-46c2-a18b-4e7e008aa256?t=1487666190643
«Ich sehe es als Zeichen der Wertschätzung meiner Arbeit, auch gerade, weil es ein eher ungewöhnliches und nicht so populäres Forschungsfeld ist», sagt Bernd Nowack, der Anfang Februar zum «Distinguished Senior Researcher» ernannt wurde – als erst vierter Forscher. Diese Auszeichnung verleiht die Empa an herausragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Ingenieure, deren Renommee und Arbeit die Empa seit vielen Jahren gut dastehen lässt – sei es durch herausragende Forschungsergebnisse oder in der späteren Anwendung und Umsetzung mit Partnern. Nowack erforscht die Auswirkungen von (Nano-)Materialien auf unsere Umwelt beziehungsweise die verschiedenen Ökosysteme.
International vernetzt
«Bernd Nowack ist ein hervorragender Wissenschaftler, der in seinem Fachgebiet der Beurteilung von Umweltrisiken mit Hilfe von dynamisch-probabilistischer Computermodellierung äusserst erfolgreich ist und weltweit kaum Konkurrenz hat», sagt Brigitte Buchmann, Direktionsmitglied der Empa und Leiterin des Departements «Mobility, Energy and Environment», die im Evaluationsgremium sass. Er verfüge ausserdem über ein ausgezeichnetes Netzwerk in der nationalen und internationalen Forschungsszene und sei ein hochgeschätzter Partner für die Industrie.
Informationen

Prof. Dr. Bernd Nowack
Technologie & Gesellschaft
Tel.  +41 58 765 76 92


Redaktion / Medienkontakt
Dr. Michael Hagmann
Communications
phone +41 58 765 45 92

Distinguished Senior Researcher

Honor for Empa environmental scientist

Mar 14, 2017 | RAMONA RONNER
On 1st February 2017 a fourth Empa scientist was awarded the title of Distinguished Senior Researcher. Bernd Nowack, an environmental scientist in the institution’s Technology and Society lab, is now entitled to use this prestigious title.
"I view it as a symbol of appreciation of the value of my work, particularly because it involves an unusual and not very popular field of research", commented Bernd Nowack on his being named Distinguished Senior Researcher at the beginning of February  only the fourth time an Empa staff member has been so honored. Empa awards this title to recognise outstanding scientists and engineers whose reputation and work has been exemplary in its excellence over many years, be this in the form of outstanding research results or in their subsequent application and implementation in collaboration with project partners. Nowack’s particular field of research is the effect of materials (including nanomaterials) on our environment and on various associated ecosystems.
Extensive international network
"Bernd Nowack is an outstanding scientist who is extraordinarily successful in his field of expertise, namely the evaluation of environmental risks through the use of dynamic-probabilistic computer modelling. He hardly has any competition worldwide", says Brigitte Buchmann, a member of Empa’s Board of Directors and head of the institution’s Department for Mobility, Energy and Environment. Ms Buchmann, who was also on the panel of evaluators for the award, adds: "He has built up an extensive network of contacts in both the national and international research worlds, and enjoys an excellent reputation as a partner in industrial collaborations."
Further information

Prof. Dr. Bernd Nowack
Technology & Society
Phone +41 58 765 76 92

Editor / Media contact
Dr. Michael Hagmann
Phone +41 58 765 45 92