Scientific Program


Monday August 26 afternoon


12:00    Registration opening


13:30    Welcome address

             Gian-Luca Bona (Empa director) & Corsin Battaglia (organizing committee)


13:40    (Invited) Crystal chemistry of NASICON-type positive electrodes for Na-ion batteries

Christian Masquelier, Fan Chen, Jean-Noel Chotard, Vadim Kovrugin, Sunkyu Park, Stéphanie Belin, Antonella Iadecola, Long H. B. Nguyen, François Fauth, Dany Carlier, Laurence Croguennec (CNRS, Université de Picardie Jules Verne, Université de Bordeaux, RS2E, Alistore-ERI)


14:20    Impact of liquid phase formation on microstructure and conductivity of Li-stabilized Na-β’’-alumina ceramics

Marie-Claude Bay, Meike V. F. Heinz, Renato Figi, Claudia Schreiner, Ulrich F. Vogt, Corsin Battaglia (Empa, Albert Ludwigs University Freiburg)


14:40    Towards better stability of cation-disordered manganese based oxyfluoride cathodes

Abdel El Kharbachi, Christian Baur, Marco Siniscalchi, Maximilian Fichtner (Helmholtz Institute Ulm, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)


15:00    Coffee break/posters


15:30    (Invited) Accelerated discovery and design of next-generation battery materials

Tejs Vegge (Technical University of Denmark)


16:10    Conductivity and elastic properties of LGPS superionics from NVT and NPT first-principles molecular dynamics

Giuliana Materzanini, Leonid Kahle, Aris Marolongo, Nicola Marzari (EPFL, IBM Research)


16:30   Surface phonons of lithium ion battery active materials

Peter Benedek, Nuri Yazdani, Hungru Chen, Nils Wenzler, Fanni Jurànyi, Martin Mansson, M. Saiful Islam, Vanessa Wood (ETH
             Zurich, University of Bath, Paul Scherrer Institut, Royal Technical University KTH Stochholm)


16:50    Apéro/posters


Tuesday August 27 morning


09:00    (Invited) Pure, hybrid and polymerized ionic liquid based electrolytes: from fundamentals to application

Manfred Kerner, Susanne Wilken, Nareerat Plylahan, Damien Monti, Piotr Jankowski, Marcel Treskow, Karolina Matuszek, Alexandre Ponrouch, M. Rosa Palacín, Aleksandar Matic, Johan Scheers, Douglas MacFarlane, Michel Armand, Patrik Johansson (Chalmers University of Technology, ICMAB-CSIC, Alistore-ERI, Warsaw University of Technoloty, Monash University, CIC Energiegune)


09:40    A 2 V class aqueous sodium-ion battery with low-temperature cycling capabilities

David Reber, Ruben-Simon Kühnel, Corsin Battaglia (Empa)


10:00    Sodium metal anodes – the influence of neglected parameters

Rico Rupp, Alexandru Vlad (UC Louvain)


10:20    Coffee break/posters


10:50   Closo-borate electrolytes for all-solid-state batteries

Léo Duchêne, Ryo Asakura, Seyedhosein Payandeh, Ruben-Simon Kühnel, Arndt Remhof, Hans Hagemann, Corsin Battaglia (Empa, University of Geneva)


11:10    Elucidating the performance limitations of graphite as negative electrode in sulfide based solid state batteries

Laura Höltschi, Franziska Jud, Christian Jordy, Claire Villevieille, Mario El Kazzi, Petr Novák (Paul Scherrer Institute, SAFT)


11:30    Assessment of the practical electrochemical stability of lithium thiophosphate solid electrolytes in Li-S cells

Georg Dewald, Saneyuki Ohno, Jürgen Janek, Wolfgang Zeier (Justus-Liebig-University Giessen)


11:50    Silicon oxycarbide – tin nanocomposite as a high-performance anode for Li-Ion batteries

Romain J.-C. Dubey, Pradeep Vallachira Warriam Sasikumar, Frank Krumeich, Gurdial Blugan, Kostiantyn V. Kravchyk, Thomas Graule, Maksym V. Kovalenko (ETH Zürich, Empa)


12:10    Lunch/posters


Tuesday August 27 afternoon


13:30    Conference photo


13:40    (Invited) How separators could be functionalized to make batteries better

Ruijun Pan, Zhaohui Wang, Jonas Lindh, Maria Strömme, Leif Nyholm, Kristina Edström (Uppsala University)


14:20    Elucidating the degradation of Ni-rich layered oxide in humid environment

Leiting Zhang, Christoph Bolli, Heino Sommer, Petr Novák, Sigita Trabesinger (Paul Scherrer Institute, BASF)


14:40    Elucidation of the complex (de-)lithiation reactions of SnO2 in all solid-state battery using operando X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy

Marta Mirolo, Xiaohan Wu, Carlos A. F. Vaz, Petr Novák, Mario El Kazzi (Paul Scherrer Institute)


15:00    Coffee break/posters


15:30    (Invited) Design of organic electrode materials for greener batteries

Alia Jouhara, Sofia Perticarari, Franck Dolhem, Yann Pellegrin, Fabrice Odobel, Nicolas Dupré, Joël Gaubicher, Philippe Poizot, Dominique Guyomard (CNRS, Université de Nantes, Université d Picardie Jules Vernes, RS2E)


16:10    Highly elastic polyrotaxane binders for mechanically stable lithium hosts in lithium metal batteries

Ahmed Elabd, Dong-Joo Yoo, Jang Wook Choi, Ali Coskun (University of Fribourg, Seoul National University)


16:30    Mixed-anion hydroborates: chemical and electrochemical stability

Matteo Brighi, Fabrizio Murgia, Zbignew Lodziana, Radovan Cerny (University of Geneva)


18:00    Banquet


Wednesday August 28


09:00    (Invited) How Europe can become the winner in the battery market

            Bo Normark (The European Battery Alliance)


09:40    (Invited) Sustainability of carbon products in Li-ion batteries

             Giulio Ferraresi, Simone Zürcher, Flavio Mornaghini (Imerys Graphite & Carbon)


10:10    (Invited) Large-scale production of lithium-ion batteries – continuous processing of electrode slurries

Philipp Stössel, Adrian Spillmann (Bühler)


10:40    Coffee/posters


11:10    3D analysis of the electrode edges

Marcel-David Zwahlen, Axel Fuerst (Bern University of Applied Sciences)


11:40    (Invited) A new European player perspective on Li-ion cell production

Carlo Novarese (Faam Research Center, formerly Lithops)


12:20    Closing remarks


12:30    Lunch/posters


13:30    Special information event

The BATTERY 2030+ initiative, status-quo, next steps and ways to participate

             Kristina Edström (Coordinator BATTERY 2030+ initiative), Stefan Fischer (Euresearch)


16:00    End of event