«Reliability Science and Technology»

Michel Calame neuer Abteilungsleiter

02.09.2016 | CORNELIA ZOGG

Die Abteilung «Reliability Science and Technology» konzentriert sich neu auf die Thematik «Nanoscale Transport Phenomena» und erhält mit Michel Calame einen neuen Leiter. Der Privatdozent für Physik an der Universität Basel übernimmt die Abteilungsleitung auf den 1. Oktober 2016.

/documents/56164/776490/Michel-Calame.jpg/9b1fdc96-fc8b-4cb9-9ec4-fa5a3f52b9be?t=1473076115627

Michel Calame wurde im Val-de-Travers im Kanton Neuchâtel geboren und beendete sein Physikstudium an der Universität Neuchâtel. Anschliessend arbeitete er als Doktorand auf dem Gebiet supraleitender Dünnschichten. Nach seiner Dissertation war er sechs Monate am Eidgenössischen Institut für Metrologie (METAS) in Bern als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter tätig. Dort befasste er sich unter anderem mit Tieftemperaturelektronik für Einzelelektronentransistoren. Dank eines Grants vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) für Nachwuchsforscher zog er 1999 nach New York, um an der Rockefeller University als Postdoc auf dem Gebiet der molekularen Biophysik zu forschen. Zurück in der Schweiz, fokussierte er sich an der Universität Basel auf Nano- und Molekularelektronik. Seit 2011 leitet Michel Calame dort die Forschungsgruppe «Nanoscale Hybrid Electronic Systems» mit Fokus auf optoelektrischen Eigenschaften und Biosensorik.

Michel Calame war von 2007 bis 2012 Mitglied im Präsidium der Mathematik-, Astronomie- und Physik-Plattform (MAP) der Akademie der Naturwissenschaften Schweiz (scnat). Er erhielt die venia docendi in Physik von der Universität Basel im Jahr 2011. Zudem ist Michel Calame Mitglied des Management-Teams des Swiss Nanoscience Institute (SNI) der Universität Basel, wo er zusätzlich zu seinen Forschungsaktivitäten das PhD-Programm des SNI mit mehr als 30 DoktorandInnen koordiniert.

Redaktion / Medienkontakt

Cornelia Zogg
Kommunikation
Tel. +41 58 765 45 99

 


Weitere Informationen

Michel Calame's Gruppe an der Universität Basel

NCCR Molecular Systems Engineering Webseite

«Reliability Science and Technology»

Michel Calame appointed new lab head

Sep 2, 2016 | CORNELIA ZOGG
Empa's Reliability Science and Technology lab is set to focus on the topic of nanoscale transport phenomena and will have a new head, Michel Calame. The private lecturer of Physics at the University of Basel will take over management of the lab on 1 October 2016.
/documents/56164/776490/Michel-Calame.jpg/9b1fdc96-fc8b-4cb9-9ec4-fa5a3f52b9be?t=1473076115627

Michel Calame was born in Val-de-Travers in the canton of Neuchâtel and studied for a degree in physics at the University of Neuchâtel. He then worked as a PhD student in the field of superconducting thin films. After completing his dissertation, he spent six months as a research assistant at the Swiss Federal Office of Metrology (METAS) in Bern. Among other things, he looked at low temperature electronics for single-electron transistors. Thanks to a grant for young researchers from the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), he moved to New York in 1999 for a postdoc in the field of molecular biophysics at Rockefeller University. When he returned to Switzerland, he joined the University of Basel and focused on nanotechnology and molecular electronics there. Since 2011, Michel Calame has been Head of the Nanoscale Hybrid Electronic Systems research group there, which works with optoelectronic properties and biosensors.

Michel Calame was a member of the Board of the Mathematics, Astronomy and Physics Platform (MAP) of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (scnat) between 2007 and 2012. He received the venia docendi in physics from the University of Basel in 2011. Calame is also a member of the management team of the Swiss Nanoscience Institute (SNI) at the University of Basel, where he pursues his research activities and also coordinates the SNI PhD program with more than 30 PhD students.

Editor / Media contact

Cornelia Zogg
Communications
phone +41 58 765 45 99

 


Further information

Michel Calame's group at the University of Basel

NCCR Molecular Systems Engineering website