Kristina Orehounig übernimmt Abteilungsleitung

«Urban Energy Systems» unter neuer Leitung

16.10.2017 | KARIN WEINMANN

Auf den 1. Februar 2018 übernimmt Kristina Orehounig, die zurzeit an der ETH Zürich forscht, die Leitung der Empa-Abteilung «Urban Energy Systems» und tritt damit die Nachfolge von Viktor Dorer an.

/documents/56164/970621/Kristina+Orehounig_Stopperbild/dcc5c878-6c16-4c06-9375-d13744b5ffc5?t=1508160887658
Kristina Orehounig ist die neue Leiterin des «Urban Energy Systems» lab an der Empa.
Kristina Orehounig, hat an der Technischen Universität Wien Architektur studiert und im Bereich der Gebäudesimulation promoviert. Sie war bereits während ihres Doktorats in der Lehre tätig, zuerst als Universitätsassistentin und später als «Assistant Professor in Building Performance Computing». Seit 2012 ist Kristina Orehounig «Senior Researcher» und Dozentin am Lehrstuhl für Bauphysik an der ETH Zürich sowie Gruppenleiterin für urbane Energiesysteme an der ETH und an der Empa in Dübendorf. 2013 übernahm sie zudem die Koordination des Masterstudiengangs «Integrated Building Systems» an der ETH Zürich.

Das Wahlkomitee der Empa lobt in der Beurteilung Kristina Orehounigs hohe wissenschaftliche Kompetenz und ihre fachliche Breite. Die Direktion der Empa folgte der Empfehlung des Wahlkomitees und hat Kristina Orehounig auf den 1. Februar 2018 zur neuen Leiterin der Abteilung «Urban Energy Systems» ernannt. Sie übernimmt die Position von Viktor Dorer. Dorer ist seit 1988 an der Empa tätig ist und leitet die Abteilung seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2015. Er wird bis zu seiner Pensionierung in 2019 weiterhin in der Abteilung in verschiedenen Funktionen tätig sein.

Kristina Orehounigs Forschungsinteressen liegen vor allem in der Entwicklung nachhaltiger Energiekonzepte für Gebäudedesign und -betrieb sowie in der Modellierung und Optimierung urbaner Energiesysteme. Sie hat an verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten mitgearbeitet. Unter anderem leitet sie derzeit ein Workpackage des Schweizer Kompetenzzentrums für Energieforschung «Future energy efficient buildings and districts» (SCCER-FEEB&D).


Redaktion / Medienkontakt

Kristina Orehounig appointed head of laboratory

New leadership for «Urban Energy Systems»

Oct 16, 2017 | KARIN WEINMANN

On 1 February 2018, Kristina Orehounig, who currently conducts research at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich, will become the new Head of the Urban Energy Systems Laboratory at Empa, taking over from Viktor Dorer.

/documents/56164/970621/Kristina+Orehounig_Stopperbild/dcc5c878-6c16-4c06-9375-d13744b5ffc5?t=1508160887658
Kristina Orehounig is the new head of the «Urban Energy Systems» lab at Empa.

Kristina Orehounig studied architecture at Vienna University of Technology and gained her doctorate in the field of building simulation. She became involved with teaching during her doctorate, first as a university assistant, and later as an Assistant Professor in Building Performance Computing. Since 2012, Kristina Orehounig has been a Senior Researcher and Lecturer at the Department of Building Physics at ETH Zurich, as well as Group Leader for Urban Energy Systems at ETH and Empa in Dübendorf. In 2013, she also took over responsibility for coordinating the Integrated Building Systems Master's degree program at ETH Zurich.

The selection committee at Empa praised Kristin Orehounig's high level of scientific competence and breadth of expertise in its appraisal. The Empa Board followed the recommendation of the selection committee and appointed Kristina Orehounig as the new Head of the Urban Energy Systems Laboratory as of 1 February 2018. She will take over from Viktor Dorer. Dorer has worked at Empa since 1988 and has been the head of the laboratory since it was founded in 2015. Until his retirement in 2019, Victor Dorer will performing various functions in the laboratory.

Kristina Orehounig's research interests lie mainly in the development of sustainable energy concepts for building design and usage and in the modelling and optimisation of urban energy systems. She has worked on various national and international research projects. For example, she is currently managing a work package for the Swiss Competence Center for Energy Research entitled Future energy efficient buildings and districts (SCCER-FEEB&D).

Further Information

Editor / Media contact