Empa in Profile
Departments and Labs
Empa Academy
Research areas
Portal for the industry
Services @ Empa
Work @ Empa
Education @ Empa

Twitter flickr
XING facebook Linkedin

EmpaNews 46 published8 October 2014
Focus: Atmospheric research - global and local

CFCs are still harming the ozone layer; industrial gases with a high greenhouse potential heat up the atmosphere. The polluters don't go undiscovered, though. Empa scientists are tracking the trace gases with highly sensitive instruments and identify the sources of pollution with the help of meteorological data. Focus-theme: atmospheric research.

NEW: EmpaNews – for iPad and Android Tablets

High performance ceramics for cars2 October 2014
High-end brakes for the Cinquecento?

An ambitious project is taking shape at Empa’s Laboratory for High Performance Ceramics: ceramic brake disks for compact cars. Empa scientists have teamed up with partners from Italy, Spain and Liechtenstein to develop the automobile technology of tomorrow. The only thing is: can the high-tech solution also be realized with a reasonable prize tag?
Ozone report of the United Nations11 September 2014
The ozone hole has stabilized – some questions remain

The production and consumption of chemical substances threatening the ozone layer has been regulated since 1987 in the Montreal Protocol. Eight international expert reports have since been published, which examine the current situation and the future of the threat to the ozone layer. Empa scientists made a decisive contribution to the latest report – presented on 10 September at the United Nations Headquarters in New York.
Material development on the nanoscale8 September 2014
Doped graphene nanoribbons with potential

Graphene is a semiconductor when prepared as an ultra-narrow ribbon – although the material is actually a conductive material. Researchers from Empa and the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research have now developed a new method to selectively dope graphene molecules with nitrogen atoms. By seamlessly stringing together doped and undoped graphene pieces, they were able to form ”heterojunctions” in the nanoribbons, thereby fulfilling a basic requirement for electronic current to flow in only one direction when voltage is applied – the first step towards a graphene transistor. Furthermore, the team has successfully managed to remove graphene nanoribbons from the gold substrate on which they were grown and to transfer them onto a non-conductive material.


EmpaNewsletter No. 21, Edition October 2nd published – Responsive Design

Empa gateway for search engines