Dr. Pierangelo Gröning

  • Head of Department 'Advanced Materials and Surfaces'
  • Head Research Focus Area 'Nanostructured Materials'
  • President Research Commission of Empa


Special Knowledge

Surface- & Nano Technology, Plasma Technology, Adhesion & Friction, Photoemission Spectroscopy, REM


Membership in national and international Committees

  • Member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Science (SATW)
  • Member of the “Nanotechnology commission” of SATW
  • Member Steering Board of the ETH “Competence Centre for Materials Science and Technology” (CCMX)
  • Member of the Swiss Association for Materials Science and Technology (SVMT)
  • Member Scientific Program Committee of IASTED International Conference on Nanotechnology and Applications
  • Committee member of the Swiss Micro- and Nanotechnology Network (SWISS MNT)
  • Committee member of the Swiss User Group Surfaces and Interfaces (SAOG)


Referee for
JACS; Phys. Rev. Lett.; Phys.; Rev. B.; J. Vac. Sci. and Technol.; Appl. Phys. Lett.; J. Appl. Phys.; Adv. Eng. Mat.; Thin Solid Films; Polymer; Physica E; Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters; Diamond and Related Materials; Materials Science & Engineering B; IEEE Transaction on Nanotechnology

Teaching / Research commissions

  • President Education and Research Committee of the Association of the Swiss Lubricant Industry (VSS-Lubes)
  • Expert Vigier Foundation
  • Module coordinator and Lecturer of the international Mastercourse "Micro- und Nanotechnology" of Euregio Bodensee (University of Applied Science Vorarlberg, Austria)
  • Lecturer at Fondation Suisse pour la Recherche en Microtechnique (FSRM)
  • Lecturer PhD school of EPFL
  • Member Board of trustees of the Laboratory for Ion Beam Physics, ETH Zurich


Curriculum Vitae

  • Professional Experience
    • Since 2006 Empa, Head departement ‚Advanced Materials and Surfaces‘
    • 2003 – 2011 Empa, Head Laboratory 'nanotech@surfaces' in Thun
    • Responsible apprentice training of physics laboratory technicians
    • 1993 – 2003 University of Fribourg, Group leader ‚Plasma Technology‘
    • 1981 – 1986 ABB Turgi, Development of electronic power converters for railways
  • Education
    • 1993  PhD, Solid State Physics Group (Prof. L. Schlapbach), Institute of Physics, University of Fribourg
    • 1984 – 1989 Undergraduate and graduate studies in Physics and Mathematics at the University of Fribourg 
    • 1978 – 1981 Graduate studies in Electric-Engineering, Diploma HTL, Engineer School Biel/Bienne
    • 1974 - 1978 Apprenticeship in Electro-Mechanics, Autophon AG, Solothurn

List of Publications (PDF, 288kB)