Scientific consulting by Empa

Solar facade in Wallisellen breaks European records

Apr 30, 2020 | LORIS PANDIANI

K3 Immobilien AG and werke versorgung wallisellen ag (die werke) have put Europe's highest-yielding solar facade into operation in the new commercial building "K3 Handwerkcity". The industrial park's groundbreaking energy concept is being scientifically supervised by Empa researchers.

/documents/56164/12835709/Bild+K3+Building/8b0ab68a-f565-43e3-8fc1-a49009e770b0?t=1588144088357
The solar facade of the new commercial building "K3 Handwerkcity" is the highest-yielding solar facade in Europe. Picture: werkeversorgung wallisellen ag

"K3 Handwerkcity" is a building that is – to a large extent – self-sufficient when it comes to energy. In addition to the solar system on the facade, this is made possible by a gas-powered combined heat and power unit and a heat pump. The innovative energy concept is a milestone for the local energy turnaround and is supposed to have a major impact on the national energy strategy.

Scientific support for the project is being provided by Empa researchers. By contributing their expertise in energy management, they will help make the industrial park as ecological and self-sufficient as possible. The focus of the research is on storing surplus solar power for a self-sufficient energy supply and thus achieving a more ecological energy economy in combination with gas.

The complete press release on this project can be found here.

Media contact

Loris Pandiani
Empa / NEST, Communications & Event Manager
Tel. +41 58 765 47 03

Denise Boll
Atlantis AG
Tel. +41 44 877 71 31

Dorothea Brändli
die werke versorgung wallisellen ag
Tel. +41 44 839 60 60


Follow us on Social Media

Soutien scientifique de l'Empa

La façade solaire de Wallisellen bat des records européens

30 avr. 2020 | LORIS PANDIANI

K3 Immobilien AG et werke versorgung wallisellen ag (die werke) ont mis en service le système solaire de façade le plus productif d'Europe dans le nouveau bâtiment commercial "K3 Handwerkcity". Le concept énergétique novateur du parc industriel est suivi scientifiquement par l'Empa.

/documents/56164/12835709/Bild+K3+Building/8b0ab68a-f565-43e3-8fc1-a49009e770b0?t=1588241461013
La façade solaire du nouveau bâtiment commercial "K3 Handwerkcity" est la plus productive d'Europe. Image : die werke versorgung wallisellen ag

«K3 Handwerkcity» est capable de subvenir à une grande partie de ses besoins en énergie. En plus du système solaire de façade, cela est rendu possible par une unité de cogénération au gaz et une pompe à chaleur. Le concept énergétique innovant est une étape importante pour le tournant énergétique local et devrait avoir un rôle modèle pour la stratégie énergétique nationale.

Le soutien scientifique du projet est assuré par les chercheurs de l'Empa, qui apportent leur expertise dans le domaine de la gestion de l'énergie afin de rendre le parc industriel le plus écologique et le plus autonome possible. Les recherches se concentrent principalement sur la manière de stocker le surplus d'énergie solaire pour un approvisionnement énergétique autonome et sur la manière de réaliser une économie énergétique plus écologique en combinaison avec le gaz.

Le communiqué de presse complet sur le projet se trouve ici.

Contact médias

Loris Pandiani
Empa / NEST, Communications & Event Manager
Tel. +41 58 765 47 03

Denise Boll
Atlantis AG
Tel. +41 44 877 71 31

Dorothea Brändli
die werke versorgung wallisellen ag
Tel. +41 44 839 60 60

 

 


Follow us on Social Media