Skip to Content

Simulation

Composing new energy systems

Jul 1, 2021 | LORIS PANDIANI

Modern, decentralized energy systems are a highly complex matter. Planning them in an optimal and cost-efficient way is a major challenge for energy planners. Sympheny, an Empa spin-off, offers a software that helps planners to find the most suitable energy concept for a building, neighborhood or even an entire city, and thus to meet their sustainability and energy efficiency goals.

/documents/56164/16644327/EQ71+Sympheny+stopper.jpg/4e304925-40ca-429c-8c88-af1bda858515?t=1618403902893
Project Chur: Sympheny is looking for new energy solutions for urban quarters together with the Chur-based utility company IBC. Image: istock

A renewable energy system is pretty much like a symphony. To achieve harmony, it takes more than just scribbling a few notes on a piece of paper. Rather, it requires an experienced composer who finds the ideal composition and determines the appropriate instruments for the piece, as well as a conductor who ensures that the individual musicians are in perfect harmony with each other. Only when everything plays together a melodious symphony takes shape. In the energy system, the role of the composer is played by energy planners. Their task is becoming increasingly complex, however, as new technologies are constantly entering the market and new requirements – for instance, with regard to sustainability and reliability – are constantly emerging.

Rethinking energy systems
/documents/56164/16644327/EQ71+Sympheny+para+870.jpg/50be9ce4-b406-4e91-bfac-4bd037dd4cca?t=1618403902347
On the screen: Sympheny helps planners to compose sustainable energy concepts by optimally orchestrating the energy flows of a given site. Image: Sympheny AG

This increasing complexity is mainly due to the shift from centralized to decentralized energy systems. It is driven by the transition towards a climate-friendly society. In decentralized energy systems, several buildings in a neighborhood or area are connected, sharing renewable energy and various conversion and storage technologies. The buildings, as energy prosumers, simultaneously use, store and feed-in surplus energy into the grid, for example from their photovoltaic system. They become an important instrument in the system themselves. A key advantage of decentralized energy systems over traditional, centrally organized ones is that energy can be provided closer to where it is being consumed. Transport routes are thus minimized, which in turn enables more efficient interaction between the individual energy and storage technologies.

For planners, this means that it is essential to consider energy systems as a whole, and to select the optimum solutions considering a large number of technologies and combinations thereof. Through innovation, the spectrum of available solutions expands even further. At the same time, energy planners must ensure grid stability and always keep an eye on economic efficiency. As a result, creating a melodious symphony becomes a highly complex task. One can no longer rely on the standard, well-worn pieces that dozens of orchestras have played before. A company that has recognized this problem and is providing a remedy is the Empa spin-off Sympheny. The name is no coincidence. Sympheny's aim is to ensure that the manifold energy flows on site are integrated into a harmonious whole – maximizing energy efficiency and sustainability.

A web tool to simplify energy planning

Sympheny offers planners a cloud-based tool that helps them to plan easily and cost-effectively the optimal energy system for a building, neighborhood or even a city. "Our platform takes into account a variety of factors, such as available renewable energies and suppliers on a given site, different energy demands, relevant technologies, and others. At the same time, it also considers the various goals of the planners, such as reducing CO2 emissions, increasing renewable energy use and minimizing costs," explains Andrew Bollinger, CEO of Sympheny. Based on this multitude of information, the online tool helps energy planners to quickly and effectively find the optimal energy system for the site. In doing so, it helps to answer crucial questions, such as whether photovoltaic systems should be installed on the roof or on the façade, whether and which seasonal storage units should be implemented, or how the thermal networks should be structured. Most importantly, it can help energy planners to answer these questions in combination – considering the numerous dependencies and interactions between technologies and energy flows on a given site.

Knowhow from the lab, impact on the market

The software is based on many years of research. Empa's Urban Energy Systems lab has been investigating new methods for optimizing decentralized energy systems for a number of years. The research eventually resulted in the tool, which has been steadily developed in collaboration with Empa's industry partners. Last year, the team finally decided to enter the market. Thus, the spin-off Urban Sympheny AG was founded in April 2020.

"We see great market potential for our solution, as energy planning is becoming increasingly complex. For energy planners, time is valuable, so it important to help them find the best solution as quickly as possible. Through its powerful algorithms and cloud-based workflows, Sympheny empowers planners to navigate this complexity with maximal efficiency, enabling them to make better planning decisions, more quickly than before," says Bollinger. At the same time, the software promotes the integration of sustainable and renewable energy sources. In this way, Sympheny's team wants to make a contribution to the energy transition.

A score from the real world

Joint projects with partners from industry show the great potential of Sympheny's solution. One example: Together with Empa, Sympheny helped the utility company IBC Energie Wasser Chur to find new energy concepts for neighborhoods that would enable them to reduce CO2 emissions to net zero by 2040. For this purpose, a digital model was created for the city of Chur in Sympheny's software. Sympheny's algorithms were then deployed to evaluate many possible energy concepts, calculate the cost and CO2 performance of each, and find the optimal solutions for the city. With this selection of solutions, the company can now easily find the one that enables it to achieve its net zero goal at minimum cost.

What's more, in an in-depth analysis, the project team also defined the necessary measures for each solution in order to transform the existing energy system. For IBC Energie Wasser Chur, the most interesting aspect might be that it is now possible to convert its current energy system into a CO2-free system without increasing the life cycle costs – despite the fact that high investments are required for the conversion. In the transformation process, the company also has the opportunity to recalculate each upcoming conversion step based on the latest data, for example new technologies, and to make any necessary adjustments. This further minimizes the risk for the transformation of the energy system.

Further information
Andrew Bollinger
Urban Energy Systems Lab
Phone +41 58 765 45 08

Editor / Media contact

Top 100 Swiss Startup Award

Sympheny has entered the race for the "Top 100 Swiss Startup Award 2021". The award ceremony will take place on September 09 and the voting will run until July 18. Vote for Sympheny: https://www.startup.ch/Urban


About Urban Sympheny AG
Sympheny offers a software (web tool) to support local energy planners in identifying optimal energy supply solutions for sites, neighborhoods, districts and communities. Sympheny's service is based on novel calculation methods and algorithms developed at Empa and ETH Zurich. The tool enables the fast evaluation of a variety of conventional and novel energy supply solutions – taking into account the interplay between different resources, energy flows and technologies – and finding optimal, site-specific solutions. www.sympheny.com

Follow us
 
Building stock

First sort, then refurbish

Switzerland's building stock is quite impressive. There are around 1.8 million buildings in the country, but only one percent of this building stock is renovated each year. In other words, it will take 100 years for the entire building stock in the country to be renovated – which would be too slow to achieve the energy transition. But before politicians decide on stimulating subsidies, this daunting task must first be structured: Which measures make sense for which buildings? And where to start?
>>>>

Energy storage

Solar energy from the deep

During the winter months, renewable energy is in short supply throughout Europe. An international project is now considering an unconventional solution: Renewable hydrogen and carbon dioxide are pumped into the ground together, where naturally occurring microorganisms convert the two substances into methane, the main component of natural gas.
>>>>

Personalized medicine

The simulated patient

Digital twins enable customized medical therapies. Empa researchers have now modeled several hundred such avatars based on real people and treated them experimentally. For the first time, the digital twins received feedback from real patients.
>>>>

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution

Saut au contenu

Simulation

Composer de nouveaux systèmes énergétiques

1 juil. 2021 | LORIS PANDIANI

Les systèmes énergétiques modernes et décentralisés sont très complexes. Les planifier de manière optimale et rentable est un défi majeur pour les planificateurs énergétiques. La spin-off de l'Empa "Sympheny" propose un logiciel qui aide les planificateurs à trouver le bon concept énergétique pour un bâtiment, un quartier ou même une ville entière, et ainsi à atteindre leurs objectifs en termes de durabilité et d'efficacité énergétique.

/documents/56164/16644327/EQ71+Sympheny+stopper.jpg/4e304925-40ca-429c-8c88-af1bda858515?t=1618403902893
Projet Coire : Sympheny travaille avec IBC, une entreprise de services publics de Coire, pour trouver de nouvelles solutions énergétiques pour les quartiers urbains. Image: istock

Un système énergétique durable est comparable à une symphonie. Pour que les différents composants s'harmonisent entre eux, il ne suffit pas d'écrire quelques notes sur un bout de papier. Elle requiert plutôt des compositeurs expérimentés qui trouvent la composition idéale et les instruments qui lui conviennent, ainsi qu'un chef d'orchestre qui veille à ce que les musiciens s'harmonisent parfaitement entre eux. Ce n'est que lorsque tout s'accorde parfaitement qu'une symphonie mélodieuse voit le jour. Dans le système énergétique, le rôle du compositeur est joué par les planificateurs d'énergie. Leur tâche devient toutefois de plus en plus complexe, car de nouvelles technologies arrivent constamment sur le marché et les exigences - par exemple en matière de durabilité et de fiabilité - évoluent également constamment.

Repenser les systèmes énergétiques
/documents/56164/16644327/EQ71+Sympheny+para+870.jpg/50be9ce4-b406-4e91-bfac-4bd037dd4cca?t=1618403902347
Sur l'écran : Sympheny aide les planificateurs à développer des concepts énergétiques durables et à harmoniser les flux énergétiques d'un site. Image : Sympheny AG

La complexité croissante est principalement due au passage de systèmes énergétiques centralisés à des systèmes décentralisés. Ce changement est motivé par l'évolution vers une société respectueuse du climat. Dans les systèmes énergétiques décentralisés, plusieurs bâtiments sont reliés dans un district ou une zone, qui utilisent ensemble des énergies renouvelables et diverses technologies de conversion et de stockage. Les bâtiments ne sont pas seulement des consommateurs d'énergie, mais aussi des producteurs d'énergie, à la fois en stockant l'énergie excédentaire, par exemple à partir de leur système photovoltaïque, et en la réinjectant dans le réseau. De cette façon, ils deviennent eux-mêmes un élément important du système. L'un des principaux avantages des systèmes énergétiques décentralisés par rapport aux systèmes énergétiques traditionnels, organisés de manière centralisée, est que l'énergie peut être fournie là où elle est consommée. Les trajets de transport sont ainsi réduits au minimum, ce qui permet une interaction plus efficace entre les différentes technologies d'énergie et de stockage.

Pour les planificateurs, cela signifie qu'ils doivent considérer les systèmes énergétiques dans leur ensemble et trouver les solutions optimales parmi un grand nombre de technologies et leurs combinaisons possibles. En outre, l'éventail des solutions disponibles s'élargit constamment grâce à l'innovation. Dans le même temps, les planificateurs d'énergie doivent assurer la stabilité du réseau et toujours garder un œil sur l'aspect économique. La création d'une symphonie mélodieuse, plutôt que de s'appuyer simplement sur des pièces standard communes que des dizaines d'orchestres ont déjà jouées, devient donc une tâche extrêmement complexe. Une entreprise qui a reconnu ce problème et trouvé un remède est la spin-off de l'Empa "Sympheny". Le nom n'a pas été choisi au hasard. L'objectif de la start-up est de mettre en harmonie les différents flux d'énergie d'un site - et d'atteindre ainsi une efficacité énergétique et une durabilité maximales.

Un outil web pour simplifier la planification énergétique

Sympheny offre aux planificateurs un outil basé sur le cloud qui les aide à planifier facilement et de manière rentable le système énergétique optimal pour un bâtiment, un quartier ou même une ville. "Notre plateforme tient compte d'un large éventail de facteurs tels que les énergies renouvelables et les fournisseurs disponibles à un endroit donné, les différents besoins énergétiques ou les technologies pertinentes. En même temps, elle tient compte des différents objectifs des planificateurs, tels que la réduction des émissions de CO2, le développement des énergies renouvelables ou la réduction des coûts", explique Andrew Bollinger, PDG de Sympheny. Sur la base de ce large éventail d'informations, l'outil en ligne aide les planificateurs à trouver le système énergétique optimal pour le site. Il répond à des questions essentielles, telles que l'opportunité et la nature des systèmes photovoltaïques à installer sur le toit ou la façade, les systèmes de stockage saisonniers à mettre en place ou la structure des réseaux thermiques. Mais surtout, la plateforme peut aider les planificateurs d'énergie à considérer ces différentes questions dans le contexte global et à fournir des réponses qui tiennent compte des nombreuses interdépendances et interactions entre les technologies et les flux énergétiques à un endroit donné.

Expertise de la recherche, impact sur le marché

La base du logiciel est constituée par de nombreuses années de recherche. Depuis plusieurs années, le Laboratoire des systèmes énergétiques urbains de l'Empa étudie de nouvelles méthodes pour optimiser les systèmes énergétiques décentralisés. La recherche a finalement abouti à l'outil, qui a été continuellement développé en collaboration avec des partenaires industriels. L'année dernière, l'équipe a finalement décidé de faire le grand saut sur le marché. Ainsi, la spin-off "Urban Sympheny AG" a été fondée en avril 2020.

"Nous voyons un grand potentiel de marché pour notre solution, car la planification énergétique devient de plus en plus complexe. Pour les planificateurs d'énergie, le facteur temps joue également un rôle essentiel. Il est donc important de les aider à trouver la solution optimale le plus rapidement possible. Nos puissants algorithmes et notre application conviviale basée sur le cloud réduisent considérablement la complexité pour les planificateurs. Ils sont ainsi en mesure de prendre des décisions de planification plus rapides et de meilleure qualité", explique Andrew Bollinger. Dans le même temps, le logiciel favorise l'intégration de sources d'énergie durables et renouvelables. L'équipe de Sympheny souhaite ainsi apporter une contribution précieuse à la transition énergétique.

Un morceau de la pratique

Des projets communs avec des partenaires industriels montrent que l'outil de Sympheny a un énorme potentiel. Un exemple : avec l'Empa, Sympheny a aidé l'entreprise de services publics IBC Energie Wasser Chur à trouver de nouveaux concepts énergétiques pour les quartiers de la capitale des Grisons, afin de réduire les émissions de CO2 à un niveau net zéro d'ici 2040. L'équipe a d'abord créé un modèle numérique de la ville à l'aide du logiciel Sympheny. Pour trouver les solutions optimales, l'étape suivante a consisté à utiliser les algorithmes de Sympheny pour évaluer les différents concepts énergétiques possibles et calculer leurs coûts et leur empreinte CO2. Avec cette sélection de concepts possibles, la compagnie d'électricité peut désormais trouver plus facilement la solution qui l'aidera à atteindre son objectif "net zéro" à un coût minimal.

Dans l'analyse détaillée, l'équipe du projet a également défini pour chaque solution les mesures nécessaires à la conversion du système énergétique existant. L'IBC Energie Wasser Chur est particulièrement intéressée par le fait qu'il est possible de convertir son système énergétique actuel en un système sans CO2 sans augmenter les coûts du cycle de vie - même si des investissements élevés sont nécessaires pour la conversion. Au cours du processus de transformation, l'entreprise a également la possibilité de recalculer les étapes de conversion à venir sur la base des dernières données, par exemple les nouvelles technologies, et de procéder aux ajustements nécessaires. Cela permet de réduire considérablement le risque lié à la conversion du système énergétique.

Informations
Andrew Bollinger
Urban Energy Systems Lab
Phone +41 58 765 45 08

Rédaction / Contact médias

Top 100 Swiss Startup Award

Sympheny participe au vote pour le "Top 100 Swiss Startup Award 2021". La cérémonie de remise des prix aura lieu le 08.09.21 et le vote se déroulera jusqu'au 18.07.21. Vous aussi pouvez voter pour Sympheny: https://www.startup.ch/Urban


Urban Sympheny AG
Sympheny propose un logiciel (outil web) pour aider les planificateurs énergétiques locaux à identifier les solutions optimales d'approvisionnement en énergie pour les sites, les quartiers, les districts et les communautés. Le service de Sympheny est basé sur des méthodes de calcul et des algorithmes novateurs développés à l'Empa et à l'ETH Zurich. L'outil permet d'évaluer rapidement un large éventail de solutions d'approvisionnement en énergie classiques et nouvelles - en tenant compte de l'interaction entre les différentes ressources, les flux d'énergie et les technologies - et d'identifier des solutions optimales et spécifiques à chaque site. www.sympheny.com

Follow us
 
Rénover le bilan énergétique

D'abord trier, puis redévelopper

La Suisse se construit. Le pays compte environ 1,8 million de bâtiments, et seul un pour cent de ce parc immobilier est rénové chaque année. En d'autres termes, il faudra 100 ans pour que l'ensemble du parc immobilier du pays soit rénové - ce qui serait trop lent pour réaliser la transition énergétique. Mais avant que les politiciens ne décident de stimuler les programmes de subventions, il faut d'abord structurer cette énorme tâche : Quelles mesures sont utiles à quel endroit ? Par où commencer ?
>>>>

Stockage de l´énergie

L'énergie du soleil du dépôt profond

Pendant les mois d'hiver, les énergies renouvelables sont rares dans toute l'Europe. Un projet international envisage maintenant une solution non conventionnelle :: L'hydrogène et le dioxyde de carbone renouvelables sont pompés ensemble dans le sol, où des micro-organismes naturels transforment les deux substances en méthane, le principal composant du gaz naturel.
>>>>

Médecine personnalisée

Le patient simulé

Les jumeaux numériques permettent des thérapies médicales sur mesure. Les chercheurs de l'Empa ont maintenant modélisé plusieurs centaines de ces avatars sur la base de personnes réelles et les ont traités expérimentalement. Pour la première fois, les jumeaux numériques ont reçu des commentaires de vrais patients.
>>>>

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution