Skip to Content

Portrait: Pietro Lura

Player on a rough field

Jan 14, 2021 | ANDREA SIX

Pietro Lura has bold plans. As head of the new "Concrete & Asphalt" lab at Empa, he is committed to durable materials that are subject to ever-changing external conditions. Climate change and the scarcity of resources require a fundamental rethink in the field of building materials – and Lura is keen on laying the foundation for this massive transformation.

/documents/56164/14692454/Portrait_Lura_stopper.jpg/61bd1305-f822-4b34-a2f8-b73be69114da?t=1602246210087
For Pietro Lura, Head of Empa's "Concrete & Asphalt" lab, sustainability in his research projects is also a matter close to his heart.

Once conceived for eternity, building materials such as concrete and asphalt must now keep up with the times. Both products face similar challenges, such as an environmentally friendly, resource-efficient production and significantly lower CO2 emissions. Pietro Lura, who heads the new "Concrete & Asphalt" lab at Empa, has made this transformation his mission. The research activities of his team – cement chemistry, concrete technology, asphalt and road construction – thus fit perfectly with the objectives of Empa's research focus area, "Sustainable Built Environment". After all, the quality of our built environment is an essential factor for a sustainable society. This includes high-quality and at the same time affordable buildings as living and working space, modern transportation networks and a reliable supply of energy, water and information.

Not an easy task when you consider that concrete and asphalt, with an annual demand of over 4.5 billion tonnes, represent the lion's share of all materials used worldwide. Admittedly, this enormous quantity accounts for a large proportion of global CO2 emissions. "But that's precisely why optimized material properties directly translate into an enormous reduction in the CO2 pollution caused by these building materials," explains civil engineer Lura.

It's all about the team
/documents/56164/14692454/Portrait_Lura_para1.jpg/3559a659-acba-46f5-b552-249832a0f880?t=1602246209453
Due to the climate debate, Lura anticipates significant global changes for the construction industry. Image: Sara Keller

In any case, no task is too big for the researcher, who has been working at Empa for twelve years and holds a titular professorship at the Institute for Building Materials at ETH Zurich since 2011. And this was already apparent long before he decided on a career: Basketball, of all things, is something the not exactly above-average sized Lura enjoys playing passionately in his free time. And after a humanistic school education, he was drawn to engineering where he distinguished himself at universities in Italy, the Netherlands, Denmark and the US.

And this is exactly how Lura sees his task at Empa: In the small country of Switzerland he works in a large field of research with enormous international competition. "It's all a team effort," says Lura. As in team sports, the synergies within the team are important. With its research expertise, its approximately 40-member lab has a USP within the Swiss research landscape and is therefore highly relevant to decision-makers such as the Federal Roads Office (FEDRO). Cooperation with industrial partners and research institutions on an international level is also already well established.

"Big Data" for building materials

Thematically, there are plenty of synergies within concrete and asphalt research because both building materials are confronted with similar challenges. Central topics include the use of alternative ingredients and previously unused secondary raw materials from industrial processes as well as the implementation of efficient recycling processes.

Cement and bitumen, the binding agents on which concrete and asphalt are based, have indeed been used since ancient times. Today, however, research is breaking completely new ground in order to analyze the chemical properties of these highly complex materials, to optimize construction materials or even to equip them with completely new properties. Both fields rely on the latest methods, for example from digitalization (artificial intelligence, machine learning, big data and computer simulations), manufacturing technology (additive manufacturing) and the field of material characterization. "Our goal is to implement the principles of recycling management by developing new composite materials, enabling the cross-recycling of asphalt and concrete, and analyzing alternative binders," says Lura, adding: "An exciting task in a globally ever-growing market.

Concrete as social identity
/documents/56164/14692454/Portrait_Lura_para2.jpg/be3ef880-accc-4992-a862-ca304fbf97e9?t=1602246209790
"Our goal is to implement the principle of circular economy, for example with new composite materials and the cross-recycling of asphalt and concrete", says Lura. Image: Sara Keller

For some, concrete and asphalt may be coarse, shapeless building materials whose fascination is not apparent at first glance. For Pietro Lura, on the other hand, this fascination is obvious: Concrete and asphalt are much more than inexpensive, robust materials. They act as "binders" in our society by bringing people together on roads. They create the entire infrastructure of the world on a large scale – and on a small scale, if privacy is given space with a home or a hospital room. In a world with rapidly increasing mobility and a widely felt globalization, building materials also form the physical basis, with which civil engineers and architects create a social identity and cultural localization of people.

Inventive spirit for new materials

As the father of three sons, the sustainability of his research is also a matter close to Lura's heart, which at the same time meets the requirements of the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP): New cement-based materials that are more climate-friendly and cheaper are to be developed and used immediately. The cement industry currently accounts for around seven percent of global CO2 emissions. However, this is likely to increase in future, as demand in Asia and increasingly also in Africa is growing, while production in Europe is stable. When Empa researchers work on the development of new cement- and bitumen-based materials, their aim is to produce less of the harmful climate gas – or even to banish CO2 from the atmosphere. Currently, around 700 kilograms of CO2 are released during the production of every ton of cement.

For Lura, driving innovation is a familiar concept, given his experience with inventions from the perspective of a patent examiner from his time at the European Patent Office in Munich. "This is a long-term strategy that will have a strong positive impact on the sustainability of the construction industry," he says. For instance, his team is investigating reduced burning temperatures and modified raw material recipes for building materials. Alternative ingredients such as blast furnace slags or waste products from the electronics industry are being screened for their availability and material properties. And for concrete and asphalt, the recycling process for demolished buildings and road surfaces can still be significantly optimized. To ensure that such approaches do not end up as niche products, new eco-building materials must ultimately meet the same requirements as conventional products, for example in terms of durability and strength.

And in yet another area, Lura sees its activity as a "binder": connecting research with the public. For example, he was editor-in-chief of the renowned technical journal "Materials and Structures" for many years. But Lura goes one step further, because he has always advocated the principle of "open access", i.e. free access to the results of publicly funded research. Researchers should be connected to the world, and the world should have insight into their research. Lura: "It's important to make advances in the scientific community available to the public."

As head of a rather large lab, the researcher certainly misses doing research himself; this is usually his team's task. Nevertheless, Lura stays on the ball when he contributes his ideas and sees them grow into new experiments, technologies or material compositions. It is an exciting time for him to see how globally important decisions for the future of the construction industry are about to be made.

Further information

Editor / Media contact
Dr. Andrea Six
Communication
Phone +41 58 765 61 33


Follow us
 

Audio

Empa researcher Frank Winnefeld talks about trends in the industry to develop circular concrete products and research on CO2-negative cement. Radio program on SRF1, Trend, January 22, 2021 (in German), 16:39 min


Video
Radioactive waste repository

Modeling eternity in the rock laboratory

Cement is one of the key materials for the safe storage of radioactive waste. What is needed is an almost infinite durability of the containers. Empa researchers are therefore analyzing material systems that can handle this task. More. (Image: Pierre Montavon)

Food technology

Drying fruit with ionic wind

If fruit or vegetables are dried with heat, nutrients can be destroyed and flavors can be reduced. This is why non-thermal drying of food – i.e. without heating – is preferred by the industry. Among other things, fans are used for this purpose. A new drying process developed at Empa using ionic wind promises to make the non-thermal drying of food much more energy-efficient, faster and even gentler. More.

COVID-19 research at Empa

"These results are crucial for the future corona vaccination strategy"

Efforts are being made worldwide to combat the new coronavirus SARS-CoV-2. Vaccines and protective masks are of prime importance. Empa researcher Peter Wick, Head of the Particles-Biology Interactions Laboratory in St. Gallen, talks to Empa Quarterly about recent antibody studies, which are crucial for the development of a COVID-19 vaccine, and the next generation of textile protective materials that inactivate or even kill corona viruses. More. (Image: Empa) 

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution

Saut au contenu

Portrait: Pietro Lura

Notre homme pour le béton et l'asphalte

14 janv. 2021 | ANDREA SIX

Pietro Lura a de grands projets. Il dirige le nouveau département de recherche "Béton & Asphalte" de l'Empa et s'engage à utiliser des matériaux durables qui sont constamment soumis à de nouvelles conditions. Après tout, le changement climatique et la rareté des ressources appellent à repenser le domaine des matériaux de construction - et les recherches de Pietro Lura visent à en jeter les bases.

/documents/56164/14692454/Portrait_Lura_stopper.jpg/61bd1305-f822-4b34-a2f8-b73be69114da?t=1602246210087
Pour Pietro Lura, responsable du labaratoire Béton et asphalte de l‘Empa, la durabilité de ses projets de recherche est aussi une question qui lui tient à coeur. Image: Sara Keller

Autrefois conçus pour l'éternité, les matériaux de construction tels que le béton et l'asphalte doivent maintenant suivre le rythme de l'époque. Les deux produits sont confrontés à des défis similaires, tels qu'une production respectueuse de l'environnement et économe en ressources et des émissions de CO2 nettement plus faibles. Pietro Lura, qui dirige le nouveau département de recherche "Béton & asphalte" de l'Empa, a fait de ce changement sa mission. Les domaines d'activité de son équipe - chimie du ciment, technologie du béton, asphalte et construction routière - s'inscrivent donc parfaitement dans les objectifs de l'axe de recherche "Environnement bâti durable" de l'Empa. Après tout, la qualité de notre environnement bâti est un facteur essentiel dans une société durable. Il s'agit notamment de bâtiments abordables, de qualité et en même temps abordables comme espace de vie et de travail, de réseaux de transport modernes et d'un approvisionnement fiable en énergie, en eau et en information.

Pas une tâche facile quand on sait que le béton et l'asphalte, avec une demande annuelle de plus de 4,5 milliards de tonnes, représentent la part du lion de tous les matériaux utilisés dans le monde. Certes, cette énorme quantité représente une grande partie des émissions mondiales de CO2. "Mais c'est précisément la raison pour laquelle l'optimisation des propriétés des matériaux signifie aussi directement une énorme réduction de la pollution au CO2 causée par ces matériaux de construction", explique l'ingénieur civil Pietro Lura.

Une question d'équipe
/documents/56164/14692454/Portrait_Lura_para1.jpg/3559a659-acba-46f5-b552-249832a0f880?t=1602246209453
Due to the climate debate, Lura anticipates significant global changes for the construction industry. Image: Sara Keller

En tout cas, aucune tâche n'est trop grande pour le chercheur, qui travaille à l'Empa depuis douze ans et qui est professeur titulaire à l'"Institut des matériaux de construction" de l'ETH Zurich depuis 2011. Et cela était déjà apparent bien avant qu'il ne décide de faire carrière : le basket, entre autres, est une activité que Pietro Lura, qui n'est pas vraiment au-dessus de la moyenne, aime pratiquer avec passion pendant son temps libre. Et après une formation scolaire humaniste, il a été attiré par l'ingénierie, entre autres, où il s'est distingué dans des universités en Italie, aux Pays-Bas, au Danemark et aux États-Unis.

Et c'est exactement comme cela que Pietro Lura voit sa tâche à l'Empa : dans le petit pays qu'est la Suisse, il travaille dans un vaste domaine de recherche où la concurrence internationale est énorme. "Tout est un travail d'équipe", dit Pietro Lura. Comme dans les sports d'équipe, les synergies au sein de l'équipe sont importantes. Grâce à ses compétences en matière de recherche, son département, qui compte environ 40 membres, possède un atout unique au sein du domaine des EPF et est donc très pertinent pour les décideurs tels que l'Office fédéral des routes (OFROU). La coopération avec les partenaires industriels et les institutions de recherche au niveau international est également déjà bien établie.

"Big Data" pour les matériaux de construction

Sur le plan thématique, il existe des synergies dans la recherche sur le béton et l'asphalte, car ces deux matériaux de construction sont confrontés à des défis similaires. Parmi les thèmes centraux figurent l'utilisation d'ingrédients de substitution et de matières premières secondaires précédemment inutilisées issues de processus industriels ainsi que la mise en œuvre de processus de recyclage efficaces.

Le ciment et le bitume, les liants sur lesquels sont basés le béton et l'asphalte, sont en effet utilisés depuis l'Antiquité. Mais aujourd'hui, la recherche innove complètement pour analyser les propriétés chimiques de ces matériaux très complexes, pour optimiser les matériaux de construction ou même pour les doter de fonctions totalement nouvelles. Les deux domaines des matériaux de construction s'appuient sur les méthodes les plus récentes, par exemple de la numérisation (intelligence artificielle, apprentissage machine, grandes données et simulations informatiques), de la technologie de fabrication ("fabrication additive") et du domaine de la caractérisation des matériaux.

"Notre objectif est de mettre en œuvre les principes de la gestion du recyclage en développant de nouveaux matériaux composites, en permettant le recyclage croisé de l'asphalte et du béton, et en analysant des liants alternatifs", déclare Pietro Lura, ajoutant : "Une tâche passionnante dans un marché mondial en pleine croissance".

Le béton comme identité sociale
/documents/56164/14692454/Portrait_Lura_para2.jpg/be3ef880-accc-4992-a862-ca304fbf97e9?t=1602246209790
En raison du débat sur le climat, Lura voit des changements mondiaux décisifs dans l‘industrie de la construction. Image: Sara Keller

Pour certains, le béton et l'asphalte peuvent être des matériaux de construction grossiers et informes dont la fascination n'est pas apparente au premier abord. Pour Pietro Lura, en revanche, cette fascination est évidente : "Le béton et l'asphalte sont bien plus que des matériaux peu coûteux et robustes. Ils agissent comme des "liants" dans notre société en rassemblant les gens sur les routes. Ils créent toute l'infrastructure du monde à grande échelle - et à petite échelle, si l'on donne à la vie privée un espace avec une maison ou une chambre d'hôpital. Dans un monde où la mobilité augmente rapidement et où la mondialisation est largement ressentie, les matériaux de construction constituent également la base physique avec laquelle les ingénieurs civils et les architectes créent une identité sociale et une localisation culturelle des personnes.

Un esprit inventif pour de nouveaux matériaux

En tant que père de trois fils, la durabilité de ses recherches est également une question qui lui tient à cœur, et qui répond en même temps aux exigences du Programme des Nations unies pour l'environnement (PNUE) : de nouveaux matériaux à base de ciment, plus respectueux du climat et moins chers, doivent être développés et utilisés immédiatement. L'industrie du ciment représente actuellement environ sept pour cent des émissions mondiales de CO2. Toutefois, il est probable qu'elle augmente à l'avenir, car la demande en Asie ainsi que en Afrique est en hausse, tandis que la production en Europe est stable. Lorsque les chercheurs de l'Empa travaillent au développement de nouveaux matériaux à base de ciment et de bitume, leur objectif est une émission de gaz climatiques moins importante - voire de bannir le CO2 de l'atmosphère. En effet, à l'heure actuelle, environ 700 kilogrammes de CO2 sont libérés lors de la production de chaque tonne de ciment.

Pour Lura, la conduite de l'innovation est un concept familier, car il a l'expérience des inventions du point de vue d'un examinateur de brevets depuis son passage à l'Office européen des brevets à Munich. "Il s'agit d'une stratégie à long terme qui aura un impact positif important sur la durabilité de l'industrie de la construction", dit-il. Par exemple, son équipe fait des recherches sur la réduction des températures de combustion et la modification des recettes de matières premières pour les matériaux de construction. Des ingrédients alternatifs tels que les scories de haut fourneau ou les déchets de l'industrie électronique sont examinés pour leur disponibilité et leurs propriétés matérielles. Et pour le béton et l'asphalte, le processus de recyclage des bâtiments et des revêtements routiers démolis peut encore être considérablement optimisé. Pour éviter que ces approches ne finissent par devenir des produits de niche, les nouveaux matériaux de construction écologiques doivent en fin de compte répondre aux mêmes exigences que les produits classiques, par exemple en termes de durabilité et de résistance.

Et dans un autre domaine encore, Pietro Lura voit son activité comme un "liant" : relier la recherche au public. Par exemple, il a été rédacteur en chef de la célèbre revue spécialisée "Materials and Structures" pendant de nombreuses années. Mais Pietro Lura va plus loin, car il a toujours défendu le principe de "libre accès", c'est-à-dire le libre accès aux résultats de la recherche financée par les pouvoirs publics. Les chercheurs doivent être connectés au monde, et le monde doit avoir un aperçu de leurs recherches. "Il est important de mettre les progrès de la communauté scientifique à la disposition du public".

En tant que chef de département avec une grande équipe, le temps au laboratoire manque certainement au chercheur, car sur le "terrain de jeu des matériaux de construction", seule son équipe est généralement active. Néanmoins, Pietro Lura reste au contact de son équipe quand il peut apporter ses idées et voit comment elles se développent et que de nouvelles expériences, technologies ou compositions de matériaux en émergent. C'est un moment passionnant pour lui de voir comment une équipe se développe ensemble et en même temps de voir les décisions importantes pour l'avenir de l'industrie de la construction.


Rédaction / Contact médias
Dr. Andrea Six
Communication
Tél. +41 58 765 61 33

Suivez-nous sur les médias sociaux
            

Audio

Le chercheur de l'Empa Frank Winnefeld parle des tendances de l'industrie à développer des produits en béton circulaire et de la recherche sur le ciment CO2-négatif. Emission de radio sur SRF1, Trend du 22 Janvier 2021 (en Allemand), 16:39 min

Dépôts nucléaires

Modéliser l'éternité

Le ciment est l'un des matériaux clés pour le stockage sûr des déchets radioactifs. Ce qu'il faut, c'est une durée de vie presque infinie pour les conteneurs. Les chercheurs de l'Empa analysent donc les systèmes de matériaux qui peuvent faire face à cette tâche. De plus. (Image: Pierre Montavon)

Technologie alimentaire

Desséché: Le ventilateur démissionne

Si les fruits ou les légumes sont séchés par la chaleur, les nutriments peuvent être détruits et les substances aromatiques peuvent être perdues. C'est pourquoi le séchage non thermique des aliments - c'est-à-dire sans chauffage - est particulièrement populaire dans l'industrie. Les ventilateurs sont notamment utilisés à cette fin. Un nouveau procédé de séchage développé à l'Empa à l'aide du vent ionique promet maintenant de rendre le séchage des aliments plus efficace sur le plan énergétique, plus rapide et encore plus doux. De plus.

La recherche à l'époque du COVID-19

"Ces résultats sont essentiels pour la stratégie de vaccination contre le coronavirus"

Des efforts sont déployés dans le monde entier pour lutter contre le coronavirus SRAS-CoV-2. Les vaccins et les masques de protection sont d'une importance capitale dans ce contexte. Peter Wick, chercheur à l'Empa et directeur du Laboratoire des interactions entre les particules et la biologie à St-Gall, commente dans la Trimestrielle les études sur les anticorps qui sont cruciales pour le développement d'un vaccin COVID-19 et de la prochaine génération de matériaux protecteurs textiles qui inactiveront ou même tueront les coronavirus. De plus. (Image: Empa) 

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution