Skip to Content
Never miss an issue

Subscribe to our magazine

What are the hot topics in research and technology? What is Empa’s role in all of this? How are inventions from the lab turned into innovations that succeed in the market? EmpaQuarterly, our magazine for research and innovation, provides answers to these questions with interviews, portraits and exciting reports from our labs.
 
Self-learning heat­ing control system

Smart heat

Can buildings learn to save all by themselves? Empa researchers think so. In their experiments, they fed a new self-learning heat­ing control system with temperature data from the previous year and the current weather forecast. The “smart” control system was then able to assess the building’s behavior and act with good anticipation. The result: greater comfort, lower energy costs. More.

Insights

Random landscape

MXenes are a new class of materials that are ideal for energy storage applications, such as this MXene-based supercapacitor printed on paper. By chance, this specimen formed a tree-like structure with a paper fiber trunk and a MXene treetop when cut.

In Brief

A mysterious hand

The bronze hand of Prêles is considered the oldest bronze sculpture of a human body part in Central Europe. It is 3500 years old – found by two private individuals and handed over to the archaeological service in the canton of Berne. Marianne Senn, leading researcher in the field of archaeo-metallurgy at Empa, was involved in the analysis. She found out that the metal was being cast – a technology that was advanced at the time. According to the research team, the metal for the bronze hand comes from the Valais or the French Alps.

Rubber in the environment

Tire abrasion lands as micro rubber mainly in soils and waters and to a small extent in the air. The amount of these particles in our environment is anything but small, as Empa researchers have now calculated. A total of 200,000 tons of microrubber have accumulated in the last 30 years – most of them in the five meters to the left and right of roads. Most of the microrubber, however, ends up in the sewage treatment plant or is recycled together with old asphalt. The rubber is harmless to the human organism.

Networked robot research

Empa is on board the Swiss National Science Foundation’s National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR) Robotics. Under the direction of ETH Zurich and EPFL, the Universities of Berne and Zurich and the “Istituto Dalle Molle di Studi sull’Intelligenza Artificiale” in Lugano are also involved. Robots are being developed to improve the quality of life of individuals and benefit society. With this NCCR, Switzerland should continue to be at the forefront of international robotics research.

Damping low tones

A team of Empa acoustic researchers has succeeded in building macroscopic crystal structures that use internal rotation to attenuate the propagation of sound waves. The method makes it possible to design very light and stiff materials that can also “swallow” low frequencies particularly well.

 

Cause of emissions

Is streaming the new flying?

Streaming consumes enormous amounts of energy and is at least as damaging to the climate as all civil aviation – according to a French study. It is generally underestimated what electronic devices – apart from electricity consumption – actually cause in terms of emissions. But how harmful is our digital consumption really for the environment? Lorenz Hilty, head of the Computer Science and Sustainability Research Group at Empa and the University of Zurich, explains. More.

Renovation

The path to an energy-efficient building park

Heating, hot water and private electricity consumption consume large amounts of energy and cause high CO2 emissions. Energy-efficient renovations of buildings can reduce this consumption – but how is the money best used for which type of building? Empa researchers have investigated this question. More.

Heat islands

Every tree counts

Is it possible to create cool zones in cities to tackle the more pronounced heat island effects due to climate change? Empa researchers have developed a simulation program that can make detailed predictions about which pavement and which type of vegetation could help. Using the Münsterplatz in Zurich as an example, they have run through such a model calculation. More.

Alternative cement recipes

A recipe for eco-concrete

Cement production has to drastically reduce its environmental footprint. Empa researchers are, therefore working on alternative cement recipes that cause significantly fewer emissions or can even bind the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide. More.

Mirko Kovac

Vertical take-off

Mirko Kovac is heading the new Materials and Technology Center of Robotics of Empa and Imperial College London. Together with his team, he develops drones and flying robots, which are supposed to help autonomously with building maintenance, for instance. And incidentally he is kicking off a revolution: he wants to build “living” machines. More.

Preeclampsia

Save diagnosis for mother and child

Preeclampsia is a particularly dreaded pregnancy complication that threatens the lives of mother and child. A correct diagnosis, however, is currently time-consuming and, in many cases, inaccurate. The Empa spin-off “MOMM Diagnostics” is developing a fast and precise test that provides diagnostic certainty and at the same time saves healthcare costs. More.

Preheating of catalytic converters

The cold-start dilemma

With hybrid cars and plug-in hybrids, cold starts occur more frequently when the internal combustion engine stops and the electric motor pushes the car through town. How quickly can the catalytic converter be preheated so that it can still clean exhaust gases well? What would be the method of choice? A team of Empa researchers is investigating. More.

On the Road

Celebrating interdisciplinarity

On November 28, Empa St. Gallen organized the annual Empa Doctoral Symposium. Following the theme “Science Cocktail: Mixing Disciplines to Drive Innovation”, the event began with an inspiring speech by Professor Neil Alford of Imperial College London and continued with lectures and poster presentations showing the diverse work of Empa PhD students. Congratulations to Oliver Braun and Rimah Darawish for winning the Best Lecture and Poster Award respectively.

Award for CFRP pioneer

On 18 September, Urs Meier, former director of Empa in Dübendorf and expert for carbon-fibre reinforced plastics (CFRP) in civil engineering, received a presti­gious award for his services – the “SAMPE Fellow Award”. This award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions in the fields of materials and processes.

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution

Saut au contenu
Ne manquez jamais un numéro

S'abonner au magazine

Quels sont les thèmes de recherche les plus actuels? Et quel rôle y joue l’Empa? Notre magazine de recherche EmpaQuarterly (l'ancienne EmpaNews) vous en informe avec des interviews, des portraits et des articles captivants sur nos laboratoires.
 
Chauffage capable d’auto-apprentissage

Chauffage intelligent

Les bâtiments peuvent-ils apprendre tout seuls à économiser de l’énergie? Des chercheurs de l’Empa en sont convaincus. Ils ont transmis à une commande de chauffage capable d’auto-apprentissage les données de l’année précédente ainsi que les prédictions météo du moment. Sur cette base, la commande «intelligente» a pu évaluer les réactions du bâtiment et en anticiper correctement les besoins. Résultat: un confort accru et des économies. De plus.

La Photo

Un paysage né du hasard

Les MXene sont une nouvelle catégorie de matériaux se prêtant remarquablement bien au stockage de l’énergie. Exemple: ce supercondensateur imprimé sur papier. Le hasard a voulu que, sectionné, cet échantillon fasse apparaître une structure arborée au tronc en fibres de papier et à la couronne de MXen.

En Bref

Une main mystérieuse

La main de Prêles – datée d’il y a 3500 ans – serait la plus ancienne sculpture en bronze d’un élément du corps humain trouvée en Europe centrale. Découverte par deux privés, elles été remise au Service archéologique du canton de Berne. Marianne Senn, chercheuse de l’Empa et spécialiste reconnue en archéométallurgie, a participé aux analyses. Elle a pu déterminer que le métal avait été coulé, ce qui, à l’époque, était une technologie de pointe. Pour l’équipe de chercheurs qui s’est penchée sur cette main, le métal proviendrait du Valais ou des Alpes françaises.

Beaucoup de caoutchouc dans l’environnement

L’usure des pneus produit des microparticules de caoutchouc qui se dispersent dans les sols et les eaux ainsi que, dans une moindre mesure, dans l’air. La quantité de ces particules dans l’environnement est tout sauf modeste. Des chercheurs de l’Empa ont calculé que ces trente dernières années, 200 000 tonnes de micro-gommes s’y étaient accumulées, majoritairement dans une bande de cinq mètres sur la gauche et la droite des routes. Une bonne part aboutit aux stations d’épuration, ou alors est recyclée avec le vieil asphalte. Le caoutchouc ne semble pas présenter de problème pour le corps humain.

Réseau de recherches de robotique

L’Empa a rejoint le Pôle de recherche national (PRN) Robotique du Fonds national suisse (FNS). Dirigé par les EPF de Zurich et de Lausanne, il compte également dans ses rangs les Universités de Berne et de Zurich, ainsi que l’«Istituto Dalle Molle di Studi sull’Intelligenza Artificiale» de Lugano. Son objectif est de mettre au point des robots intelligents pour améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes et servir la société. Ce programme multidisciplinaire doit permettre à la Suisse de rester à la pointe de la recherche internationale en robotique.

Atténuer les basses fréquences

Une équipe d’acousticiens de l’Empa a réalisé des structures cristallines macroscopiques dont les rotations internes atténuent sensiblement la propagation des ondes sonores. Cette technique permet de réaliser des matériaux légers et rigides qui «absorbent» aussi très bien les basses fréquences.

 

Emissions de CO2 liées aux appareils électriques

Plutôt le streaming que le vol

Le streaming vidéo consommerait d’énormes quantités d’énergie et pèserait autant sur le climat que toute l’aviation civile. Telle est la conclusion d’une étude française. On sous-estime systématiquement les émissions de CO2 liées aux appareils électriques en sus de leur consommation directe de courant. Quel est l’impact réel de nos habitudes digitales sur l’environnement? Lorenz Hilty, qui dirige le groupe de recherche Informatique et durabilité de l’Empa et de l’Université de Zurich, clarifie la situation. De plus.

Rénovation

Vers un parc immobilier à haute efficacité énergétique

Le chauffage, l’eau chaude et le courant électrique engloutissent de grandes quantités d’énergie et génèrent d’importantes émissions de CO2. L’assainissement énergétique des bâtiments peut réduire cette consommation. Mais comment utiliser au mieux l’argent disponible, sur quel type de bâtiments? Des chercheurs de l’Empa étudient la question. De plus.

Îlot de chaleur

Chaque arbre compte

En été, lors des canicules, de nombreuses villes se transforment en piège à chaleur. Le changement climatique ne fera qu’aggraver le phénomène. Peut-on créer en ville des zones de fraîcheur venant compenser cette réalité? Des chercheurs de l’Empa ont programmé un logiciel de simulation qui fournit des informations précises sur le type de revêtement et de végétalisation pouvant produire l’effet souhaité. A titre d’illustration, ils ont choisi la Münsterplatz de Zurich. De plus.

Ciment de substitution

Recette pour l’éco-béton

Le ciment doit devenir plus respectueux de l’environnement. C’est pourquoi les chercheurs de l’Empa travaillent sur la mise au point d’un ciment de substitution qui émet nettement moins ou qui peut même lier le dioxyde de carbone, un gaz à effet de serre. De plus.

Mirko Kovac

Danse avec les drones

Mirko Kovac est directeur du nouveau «Centre des matériaux et de la technologie de la robotique» de l’Empa et de l’Imperial College de Londres. Avec son équipe, il développe des drones et des robots volants, qui sont censés aider de manière autonome à l’entretien des bâtiments, par exemple. Et en même temps, il lance une révolution: il veut construire des machines «vivantes». De plus.

La pré-éclampsie

Diagnostic fiable pour la mère et l’enfant

La pré-éclampsie est une complication de la grossesse particulièrement redoutée qui menace la vie de la mère et de l’enfant. Cependant, un diagnostic prend actuellement beaucoup de temps et il est inexact. Le spin-off de l’Empa «MOMM Diagnostics» met au point un test rapide et précis qui permet d’obtenir une clarté précoce tout en réduisant les coûts de la santé. De plus.

Préchauffer le catalyseur

Le dilemme du démarrage à froid

Les moteurs thermiques des voitures hybrides et hybrides rechargeables démarrent à froid plus souvent que ceux des voitures habituelles. C’est en particulier le cas chaque fois que la voiture quitte une ville, passant du mode électrique au mode essence. Comment préchauffer le catalyseur pour qu’il épure rapidement les gaz d’échappement? Quelle méthode choisir? Une équipe de l’Empa a calculé tout cela. De plus.

On the Road

Célébrer l’interdisciplinarité

Le 28 novembre, notre site de Saint-Gall accueillait le symposium annuel des doctorants de l’Empa. Placé sous le thème «Science Cocktail: Mixing Disciplines to Drive Innovation», il a débuté par une stimulante allocution du Professeur Neil Alford de l’Imperial College London, et s’est poursuivi par des exposés et des présentations de posters témoignant de la diversité des travaux entrepris par les doctorants. Nos cordiales félicitations à Oliver Braun et Rimah Darawish pour la meilleure présentation et le meilleur poster.

Distinction pour le pionnier de CFK

Le 18 septembre, Urs Meier, ancien directeur de l’Empa de Dübendorf et expert en polymères renforcés de fibres de carbone (PRFC) dans le bâtiment, s’est vu décerner la prestigieuse «SAMPE Fellow Award» en reconnaissance de ses remarquables contributions au domaine des matériaux et procédés.

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution