Magnetism in carbon nanostructures

Award for outstanding PhD thesis

Jul 2, 2020 | KARIN WEINMANN

Empa researcher Shantanu Mishra received the Award of the Swiss Physical Society on 1 July 2020 for his outstanding PhD thesis.

/documents/56164/13575633/Shantanu_neu/c388daf8-917f-465c-823d-e2c21ee1427c?t=1593776519393
Empa researcher Shantanu Mishra

The Swiss Physical Society (SPS) annually awards prizes for outstanding research work by young physicists. This year the SPS Award in Condensed Matter Physics, sponsored by IBM, goes to Empa researcher Shantanu Mishra for his PhD thesis on magnetism in carbon nanostructures.

Mishra has been working at Empa's nanotech@surfaces lab since 2016, focussing on novel graphene nanostructures, which he is studying using scanning tunneling microscopy and spectroscopy.

Not the only award ...

Mishra holds a Bachelor's degree in Engineering Physics from the National Institute of Technology Calicut in India, and Master's degrees in Applied and Engineering Physics and Materials Science from the TU Munich in Germany and the Université de Montpellier in France. He completed his Master's thesis at the Laboratory for Neutron Scattering and Imaging at the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), where he investigated the structure and magnetic order in non-stoichiometric rare earth nickel oxides using bulk magnetometry and neutron scattering.

Mishra's research was also recognized with the 2020 Swiss Nanotechnology PhD Award sponsored by Zeiss/Gloor and a doctoral distinction from the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences of the University of Zurich. This is the highest award for a dissertation and is only awarded to the best 5% of all dissertations by faculty decision.

Further information

Shantanu Mishra
nanotech@surfaces
Phone: +41 58 765 48 39
shantanu.mishra@empa.ch


Editor / Media contact

Karin Weinmann
Communications
Phone +41 58 765 47 08
redaktion@empa.ch

Follow us on Social Media

Magnetismus in Kohlenstoff-Nanostrukturen

Ausgezeichnete Doktorarbeit

02.07.2020 | KARIN WEINMANN

Empa-Forscher Shantanu Mishra wurde am 1. Juli 2020 mit dem Award der Schweizerischen Physikalischen Gesellschaft ausgezeichnet.

/documents/56164/13575633/Shantanu_neu/c388daf8-917f-465c-823d-e2c21ee1427c?t=1593776519393
Empa-Forscher Shantanu Mishra

Die Schweizerische Physikalische Gesellschaft (SPS) verleiht jährlich Preise für ausserordentliche Forschungsarbeiten junger Physikerinnen und Physikern. Der SPS Award in Physik der kondensierten Materie, gesponsert von IBM, geht dieses Jahr an den Empa-Forscher Shantanu Mishra für seine Doktorarbeit zu Magnetismus in Kohlenstoff-Nanostrukturen.

Shantanu Mishra forscht seit 2016 in der Empa Abteilung nanotech@surfaces und konzentriert sich auf neuartige Graphen-Nanostrukturen, die er mittels Rastertunnel-Mikroskopie und -Spektroskopie untersucht.

Zwei weitere Auszeichungen

Mishra hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in technischer Physik vom National Institute of Technology Calicut in Indien, und MS-Abschlüsse in angewandter und technischer Physik und Mathematik von der TU München und der Université de Montpellier. Seine Masterarbeit absolvierte er an der Abteilung für Neutronenstreuung am Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI), wo er die Struktur und magnetische Ordnung in nicht-stöchiometrischen Seltene-Erden-Nickeloxiden mittels Bulkmagnetometrie und Neutronenstreuung untersuchte.

Mishra's Forschungsarbeiten wurde ausserdem mit einem 2020 Swiss Nanotechnology PhD Award und der "Auszeichnung für eine hervorragende Dissertation" der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich ausgezeichnet. Das ist die höchste Auszeichnung für eine Dissertation, und wird auf Fakultätsbeschluss nur an die besten 5% aller Dissertationen verliehen.

Informationen

Shantanu Mishra
nanotech@surfaces
Tel: +41 58 765 4839
shantanu.mishra@empa.ch


Redaktion / Medienkontakt

Karin Weinmann
Kommunikation
Tel +41 58 765 47 08
redaktion@empa.ch

Follow us on Social Media