Scientific consulting by Empa

Solar facade in Wallisellen breaks European records

Apr 30, 2020 | LORIS PANDIANI

K3 Immobilien AG and werke versorgung wallisellen ag (die werke) have put Europe's highest-yielding solar facade into operation in the new commercial building "K3 Handwerkcity". The industrial park's groundbreaking energy concept is being scientifically supervised by Empa researchers.

/documents/56164/12835709/Bild+K3+Building/8b0ab68a-f565-43e3-8fc1-a49009e770b0?t=1588144088357
The solar facade of the new commercial building "K3 Handwerkcity" is the highest-yielding solar facade in Europe. Picture: werkeversorgung wallisellen ag

"K3 Handwerkcity" is a building that is – to a large extent – self-sufficient when it comes to energy. In addition to the solar system on the facade, this is made possible by a gas-powered combined heat and power unit and a heat pump. The innovative energy concept is a milestone for the local energy turnaround and is supposed to have a major impact on the national energy strategy.

Scientific support for the project is being provided by Empa researchers. By contributing their expertise in energy management, they will help make the industrial park as ecological and self-sufficient as possible. The focus of the research is on storing surplus solar power for a self-sufficient energy supply and thus achieving a more ecological energy economy in combination with gas.

The complete press release on this project can be found here.

Media contact

Loris Pandiani
Empa / NEST, Communications & Event Manager
Tel. +41 58 765 47 03

Denise Boll
Atlantis AG
Tel. +41 44 877 71 31

Dorothea Brändli
die werke versorgung wallisellen ag
Tel. +41 44 839 60 60


Follow us on Social Media

Wissenschaftliche Begleitung durch die Empa

Walliseller Solaranlage bricht Europas Rekorde

30.04.2020 | LORIS PANDIANI

Die K3 Immobilien AG und die werke versorgung wallisellen ag (die werke) haben die ertragreichste Fassaden-Solaranlage Europas im Gewerbe-Neubau «K3 Handwerkcity» in Betrieb genommen. Das wegweisende Energiekonzept des Gewerbeparks wird von der Empa wissenschaftlich begleitet.

/documents/56164/12835709/Bild+K3+Building/8b0ab68a-f565-43e3-8fc1-a49009e770b0?t=1588144088357
Die Solarfassade des Gewerbe-Neubaus "K3 Handwerkcity" ist die ertragreichste Europas. Bild: werkeversorgung wallisellen ag

«K3 Handwerkcity» ist in der Lage, sich zu einem grossen Teil selbst mit Energie zu versorgen. Neben der Fassaden-Solaranlage wird dies durch ein gasbetriebenes Blockheizkraftwerk und eine Wärmepumpe ermöglicht. Das innovative Energiekonzept dahinter ist ein Meilenstein für die lokale Energiewende und soll Signalkraft für die nationale Energiestrategie haben.

Die wissenschaftliche Begleitung des Projekts erfolgt durch Empa-Forscher, die ihre Expertise im Energiemanagement einbringen, um den Gewerbepark so ökologisch und autark wie möglich zu betreiben. Der Schwerpunkt der Forschung liegt dabei vor allem darauf, wie man überschüssigen Solarstrom für eine autarke Energieversorgung speichern kann und wie im Zusammenspiel mit Gas eine ökologischere Energiewirtschaft erreicht werden kann.

Die vollständige Medienmitteilung zum Projekt finden Sie hier

Medienkontakt

Loris Pandiani
Empa / NEST, Communications & Event Manager
Tel. +41 58 765 47 03

Denise Boll
Atlantis AG
Tel. +41 44 877 71 31

Dorothea Brändli
die werke versorgung wallisellen ag
Tel. +41 44 839 60 60


Follow us on Social Media