Skip to Content
Never miss an issue

Subscribe to our magazine

What are the hot topics in research and technology? What is Empa’s role in all of this? How are inventions from the lab turned into innovations that succeed in the market? EmpaQuarterly, our magazine for research and innovation, provides answers to these questions with interviews, portraits and exciting reports from our labs.
 
Self-learning heat­ing control system

Smart heat

Can buildings learn to save all by themselves? Empa researchers think so. In their experiments, they fed a new self-learning heat­ing control system with temperature data from the previous year and the current weather forecast. The “smart” control system was then able to assess the building’s behavior and act with good anticipation. The result: greater comfort, lower energy costs. More.

Insights

Random landscape

MXenes are a new class of materials that are ideal for energy storage applications, such as this MXene-based supercapacitor printed on paper. By chance, this specimen formed a tree-like structure with a paper fiber trunk and a MXene treetop when cut.

In Brief

A mysterious hand

The bronze hand of Prêles is considered the oldest bronze sculpture of a human body part in Central Europe. It is 3500 years old – found by two private individuals and handed over to the archaeological service in the canton of Berne. Marianne Senn, leading researcher in the field of archaeo-metallurgy at Empa, was involved in the analysis. She found out that the metal was being cast – a technology that was advanced at the time. According to the research team, the metal for the bronze hand comes from the Valais or the French Alps.

Rubber in the environment

Tire abrasion lands as micro rubber mainly in soils and waters and to a small extent in the air. The amount of these particles in our environment is anything but small, as Empa researchers have now calculated. A total of 200,000 tons of microrubber have accumulated in the last 30 years – most of them in the five meters to the left and right of roads. Most of the microrubber, however, ends up in the sewage treatment plant or is recycled together with old asphalt. The rubber is harmless to the human organism.

Networked robot research

Empa is on board the Swiss National Science Foundation’s National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR) Robotics. Under the direction of ETH Zurich and EPFL, the Universities of Berne and Zurich and the “Istituto Dalle Molle di Studi sull’Intelligenza Artificiale” in Lugano are also involved. Robots are being developed to improve the quality of life of individuals and benefit society. With this NCCR, Switzerland should continue to be at the forefront of international robotics research.

Damping low tones

A team of Empa acoustic researchers has succeeded in building macroscopic crystal structures that use internal rotation to attenuate the propagation of sound waves. The method makes it possible to design very light and stiff materials that can also “swallow” low frequencies particularly well.

 

Cause of emissions

Is streaming the new flying?

Streaming consumes enormous amounts of energy and is at least as damaging to the climate as all civil aviation – according to a French study. It is generally underestimated what electronic devices – apart from electricity consumption – actually cause in terms of emissions. But how harmful is our digital consumption really for the environment? Lorenz Hilty, head of the Computer Science and Sustainability Research Group at Empa and the University of Zurich, explains. More.

Renovation

The path to an energy-efficient building park

Heating, hot water and private electricity consumption consume large amounts of energy and cause high CO2 emissions. Energy-efficient renovations of buildings can reduce this consumption – but how is the money best used for which type of building? Empa researchers have investigated this question. More.

Heat islands

Every tree counts

Is it possible to create cool zones in cities to tackle the more pronounced heat island effects due to climate change? Empa researchers have developed a simulation program that can make detailed predictions about which pavement and which type of vegetation could help. Using the Münsterplatz in Zurich as an example, they have run through such a model calculation. More.

Alternative cement recipes

A recipe for eco-concrete

Cement production has to drastically reduce its environmental footprint. Empa researchers are, therefore working on alternative cement recipes that cause significantly fewer emissions or can even bind the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide. More.

Mirko Kovac

Vertical take-off

Mirko Kovac is heading the new Materials and Technology Center of Robotics of Empa and Imperial College London. Together with his team, he develops drones and flying robots, which are supposed to help autonomously with building maintenance, for instance. And incidentally he is kicking off a revolution: he wants to build “living” machines. More.

Preeclampsia

Save diagnosis for mother and child

Preeclampsia is a particularly dreaded pregnancy complication that threatens the lives of mother and child. A correct diagnosis, however, is currently time-consuming and, in many cases, inaccurate. The Empa spin-off “MOMM Diagnostics” is developing a fast and precise test that provides diagnostic certainty and at the same time saves healthcare costs. More.

Preheating of catalytic converters

The cold-start dilemma

With hybrid cars and plug-in hybrids, cold starts occur more frequently when the internal combustion engine stops and the electric motor pushes the car through town. How quickly can the catalytic converter be preheated so that it can still clean exhaust gases well? What would be the method of choice? A team of Empa researchers is investigating. More.

On the Road

Celebrating interdisciplinarity

On November 28, Empa St. Gallen organized the annual Empa Doctoral Symposium. Following the theme “Science Cocktail: Mixing Disciplines to Drive Innovation”, the event began with an inspiring speech by Professor Neil Alford of Imperial College London and continued with lectures and poster presentations showing the diverse work of Empa PhD students. Congratulations to Oliver Braun and Rimah Darawish for winning the Best Lecture and Poster Award respectively.

Award for CFRP pioneer

On 18 September, Urs Meier, former director of Empa in Dübendorf and expert for carbon-fibre reinforced plastics (CFRP) in civil engineering, received a presti­gious award for his services – the “SAMPE Fellow Award”. This award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions in the fields of materials and processes.

Quick Access

The latest EmpaQuarterly:
Focus: Energy revolution

Zum Inhalt wechseln
Keine Ausgabe verpassen!

EmpaQuarterly abonnieren

Was sind die aktuellsten Forschungsthemen? Welche Rolle spielt die Empa dabei? Unser Forschungsmagazin EmpaQuarterly (die frühere EmpaNews) gibt mit Interviews, Portraits und spannenden Berichten aus dem Labor Auskunft zu relevanten Fragen.
 
Selbstlernende Heizungssteuerung

Smarte Wärme

Können Gebäude von selbst sparen lernen? Forscher der Empa sind davon überzeugt. In einem Experiment fütterten sie eine neue selbstlernende Heizungssteuerung mit Daten aus dem vergangenen Jahr und mit der aktuellen Wettervorhersage. Daraufhin konnte die «smarte» Steuerung das Verhalten des Gebäudes einschätzen und vorausschauend handeln. Ergebnis: mehr Komfort, weniger Energiekosten. Mehr.

Wissen im Bild

Zufällige Landschaft

MXene sind eine neue Klasse von Materialien, die sich hervorragend für Energiespeicheranwendungen eignen, wie dieser auf Papier gedruckte Superkondensator auf MXen-Basis. Durch Zufall bildete dieses Exemplar beim Schneiden eine baumartige Struktur mit Papierfaserstamm und MXen-Baumkrone.

In Kürze

Eine rätselhafte Hand

Die Bronzehand von Prêles gilt als älteste Bronzeplastik eines menschlichen Körperteils in Mitteleuropa. 3500 Jahre ist sie alt – gefunden von zwei Privatpersonen und ausgehändigt an den archäologischen Dienst im Kanton Bern. Marianne Senn, führende Forscherin im Bereich der Archäo-Metallurgie an der Empa, war an den Analysen beteiligt. So fand sie heraus, dass das Metall gegossen wurde – eine für damals fortschrittliche Technologie. Das Metall für die Bronzehand stammt gemäss dem Forscherteam aus dem Wallis oder den französischen Alpen.

Gummi in der Umwelt

Reifenabrieb landet als Mikrogummi hauptsächlich in Böden und Gewässern und zu einem kleinen Teil in der Luft. Die Menge dieser Partikel in unserer Umwelt ist alles andere als gering, wie Forschende der Empa nun berechnet haben. Ganze 200 000 Tonnen Mikrogummi haben sich in den letzten 30 Jahren angesammelt – das meiste davon in den fünf Metern links und rechts von Strassen. Ein Grossteil des Mikrogummis landet allerdings in der Kläranlage oder wird mit altem Asphalt zusammen recycelt. Für den menschlichen Organismus ist der Gummi unbedenklich.

Vernetzte Roboterforschung

Beim Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkt (NCCR) Robotik des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) ist auch die Empa mit an Bord. Unter Leitung der ETH Zürich und der EPFL arbeiten hier zudem die Universitäten Bern und Zürich sowie das «Istituto Dalle Molle di Studi sull’Intelligenza Artificiale» in Lugano mit. Dabei werden Roboter entwickelt, die mehr Lebensqualität für den Einzelnen und einen Nutzen für die Gesellschaft bringen sollen. Mit diesem multidisziplinären NCCR soll die Schweiz auch weiterhin zur Spitze der internationalen Robotikforschung gehören.

Tiefe Töne dämpfen

Einem Team von Akustikforschern der Empa ist es gelungen, makroskopische Kristallstrukturen zu bauen, die innere Drehbewegungen nutzen, um die Ausbreitung von Schallwellen abzuschwächen. Mit der Methode lassen sich sehr leichte und steife Materialien entwerfen, die auch tiefe Frequenzen besonders gut «schlucken» können.

 

Emissionen durch Elektrogeräte

Lieber Streamen als Fliegen

Streamen verbrauche Unmengen an Energie und sei mindestens so klimaschädigend wie der gesamte zivile Flugverkehr. Zu diesem Schluss kam eine französische Studie. Allgemein wird unterschätzt, was elektronische Geräte – neben dem Stromverbrauch – tatsächlich an Emissionen verursachen. Doch wie schädlich ist unser digitaler Konsum tatsächlich für die Umwelt? Lorenz Hilty, Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Informatik und Nachhaltigkeit an der Empa und der Universität Zürich, klärt auf. Mehr.

Sanierung

Der Weg zum energieeffizienten Gebäudepark

Heizen, Warmwasser und privater Stromverbrauch verschlingen grosse Mengen an Energie und verursachen hohe CO2-Emissionen. Energetische Sanierungen von Gebäuden können diesen Verbrauch verringern – doch wie setzt man das Geld bei welchem Gebäudetyp am besten ein? Empa-Forschende sind dieser Frage nachgegangen. Mehr.

Hitzeinseln

Jeder Baum zählt

Immer mehr Städte verwandeln sich im Sommer in Hitzeinseln. Kann man kühle Orte schaffen, die dieser Tendenz entgegenwirken? Ein Simulationsprogramm der Empa kann detailliert voraussagen, welcher Bodenbelag und welche Begrünung die besten Erfolge versprechen. Am Beispiel des Münsterplatzes in Zürich haben Forscher die Berechnung nun durchgespielt. Mehr.

Alternativer Zement

Rezeptur für Öko-Beton

Zement muss umweltfreundlicher werden. Empa-Forscher arbeiten darum an alternativem Zement, der deutlich weniger Emissionen verursacht oder sogar das Treibhausgas Kohlendioxid binden kann. Mehr.

Mirko Kovac

Senkrechtstarter

Mirko Kovac ist Direktor des neuen «Materials and Technology Center of Robotics» der Empa und des «Imperial College London». Mit seinem Team entwickelter Drohnen und Flugroboter, die selbstständig beispielsweise beim Gebäudeunterhalt helfen sollen. Und ganz nebenbei startet er eine Revolution: Er will «lebende» Maschinen bauen. Mehr.

Schwangerschaftsvergiftung

Sichere Diagnostik für Mutter und Kind

Als eine besonders gefürchtete Komplikation bedroht die Schwangerschaftsvergiftung das Leben von Mutter und Kind. Eine korrekte Diagnose ist derzeit allerdings zeitraubend und ungenau. Das Empa-Spin-off «MOMM Diagnostics» entwickelt einen schnellen und präzisen Test, der frühzeitig Klarheit schafft und gleichzeitig Gesundheitskosten spart. Mehr.

Katalysatoren vorwärmen

Das Kaltstart-Dilemma

Bei Hybridautos und Plug-in-Hybriden kommt es häufiger zu Kaltstarts als bei normalen Verbrennungsmotoren, nämlich immer dann, wenn der Verbrennungsmotor ausgeht und der Elektromotor das Auto durch die Stadt schiebt. Wie schnell lässt sich der Katalysator vorwärmen, damit er Abgase dennoch gut reinigen kann? Was wäre die Methode der Wahl? Ein Forscherteam der Empa hat es ausgerechnet. Mehr.

Unterwegs

Interdisziplinarität feiern

Am 28. November veranstaltete die Empa St. Gallen das jährliche Empa-Doktoranden-Symposium. Im Anschluss an das Thema «Science Cocktail: Mixing Disciplines to Drive Innovation» begann die Veranstaltung mit einer inspirierenden Rede von Professor Neil Alford vom Imperial College London. Danach folgen Vorträge und Poster­präsentationen, die die vielfältigen Arbeiten von Doktoranden der Empa zeigten. Herzlichen Glückwunsch an Oliver Braun und Rimah Darawish für die Auszeichnung für den besten Vortrag bzw. den Posterpreis.

Auszeichnung für CFK-Pionier

Am 18. September durfte Urs Meier, ­ehemaliger Direktor der Empa in ­Dübendorf und Experte für kohlenfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe (CFK) im Bauingenieurwesen, für seine Verdienste eine prestigeträchtige Auszeichnung entgegennehmen – den «SAMPE Fellow Award». Dieser wird als Anerkennung für herausragende Beiträge in den Bereichen Materialien und Prozesse verliehen.

Quick Access

Das neuste EmpaQuarterly:
Fokus: Energie-Revolution