FOCUS: Wood – a new discovery

Skyscrapers made of bamboo concrete

Apr 5, 2016 | AMANDA ARROYO
Bamboo is a feat of nature. After all, this member of the grass family contains fibers that are as strong as steel. With a bit of help from the lab, it has the potential to become the building material of the future.
/documents/56164/517523/Holz_Bambus/a95e3f87-baa3-42ca-9e61-c9d6dd18a9e2?t=1459848199013

In developing and emerging countries like Malaysia and Indonesia, cities are growing at breakneck speed. Every year, vast quantities of steel are required to satisfy the mounting demand for new buildings. As steel isn’t produced domestically, however, it needs to be imported, which is neither particularly ecological nor economical. Consequently, Dirk Hebel’s group from ETH Zurich teamed up with Empa researchers Mateusz Wielopolski and Sébastien Josset to search for an alternative – and struck gold: bamboo, a member of the grass family with the tensile strength of steel. What’s more, it is six times lighter and, as it grows in tropical regions, is particularly hardy.
The fact that this grass can withstand incredible forces is nothing new. Until now, however, it has not been possible to use it as a construction material. Back in the 1960s, researchers attempted to replace iron reinforcements with bamboo but the rods tended to soak up so much water that they cracked the concrete as they swelled.
In order to prevent this, the Swiss researchers devised a cunning technique. They don’t merely use bamboo straight out of the ground. “We cut up the bamboo and stick it back together again,” explains Wielopolski. The glue they use is a specially developed resin that renders the wood waterproof. As a result, Wielopolski managed to achieve the best material values ever for bamboo composite materials.
Using bamboo as reinforcement opens up completely new possibilities in architecture. “As the material is six times lighter than steel, you can build much higher buildings with it,” says Wielopolski. Not only might it replace steel, it can also be used in lieu of carbon, glass or other wood fibers in composite materials.

A material that lasts

In actual fact, there was no need for Wielopolski to develop a new glue. After all, there are already perfectly good resins on the market, which are used in the automobile and aviation industries, for instance. Airplane components, such as wings, are increasingly being glued – and have to withstand high levels of stress. “But we didn’t want to use these high-performance glues,” says Wielopolski. “They are so expensive that no developing country can afford them.” In other words, it’s the resin that drives up the cost, not the bamboo. Consequently, he minimized the proportion of resin and also gained in sustainability. Moreover, the new glue comes from a renewable raw material: vegetable oil. “Not extra virgin olive oil, of course,” says Wielopolski with a grin; “we use plant waste.” He extracts the oil and, via a chemical conversion, the resin, which makes the wood both waterproof and malleable – just the ticket for a broad range of applications.
“Now that we’ve developed something, we want to use it,” says Wielopolski. However, he realizes how difficult it is to test innovative materials on new buildings in practice. “Which is why I’m over the moon about Empa’s research building NEST,” says Wielopolski. This gives him the opportunity to try out his material for the first time. But we won’t be seeing any skyscrapers made of bamboo just yet. To start with, Wielopolski is concentrating on smaller applications – decking or garden furniture – to test just how weatherproof the material is under real conditions. As soon as it has cleared this hurdle, the use of bamboo for reinforcement purposes will soon be on the cards. “But we’re still a far cry from replacing established materials from the building industry,” says Wielopolski.


Images can be downloaded here.

FOKUS: Holz – völlig neu erdacht

Hochhäuser aus Grasbeton

05.04.2016 | AMANDA ARROYO
Bambus ist eine Meisterleistung der Natur, das Gras enthält Fasern, die zugfest sind wie Stahl. Mit etwas Unterstützung aus dem Labor, hat es das Potenzial zum Baustoff der Zukunft.
/documents/56164/517523/Holz_Bambus/a95e3f87-baa3-42ca-9e61-c9d6dd18a9e2?t=1459848199013

Städte in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern wie Malaysia und Indonesien wachsen besonders schnell. Für den Aufbau werden jährlich Unmengen an Stahl benötigt, der aber nicht vor Ort produziert wird. Also muss er importiert werden. Doch dies ist weder besonders ökologisch noch ökonomisch. Daher suchte die Gruppe um Dirk Hebel von der ETH Zürich zusammen mit den Empa-Forschern Mateusz Wielopolski und Sébastien Josset nach einer Alternative. Und fanden sie: Bambus, ein Gras mit der Zugfestigkeit von Baustahl. Allerdings ist es sechsmal leichter und noch dazu besonders nachhaltig, denn es wächst in den Tropen.

Dass dieses Gras schier unglaubliche Kräfte aushält, weiss man schon lange. Doch als Baumaterial nutzen konnte man es bislang trotzdem nicht. Bereits in den 1960er Jahren haben Forscher versucht, Armierungseisen durch Bambus zu ersetzen. Aber die Stäbe saugten so viel Wasser auf, dass sie beim Aufquellen den Beton sprengten.

Spezialharz schützt vor dem Aufquellen

Um dies zu verhindern, haben die Schweizer Forscher ein raffiniertes Verfahren entwickelt. Dabei nutzen sie Bambus nicht einfach so, wie er gewachsen ist. «Wir schneiden Bambus auseinander und kleben ihn wieder zusammen», erklärt Wielopolski. Der Kleber ist ein eigens entwickeltes Harz, das Holz Wasser abstossend macht. So brachte Wielopolski die besten Materialwerte zustande, die jemals für Bambusverbundstoffe erreicht wurden.
Bambus als Armierung eröffnet in der Architektur ganz neue Möglichkeiten. «Da das Material sechsmal leichter als Stahl ist, könnte man damit viel höher bauen», so Wielopolski. Es könnte nicht nur Stahl ersetzen, sondern lässt sich anstelle von Carbon-, Glas- oder anderen Holzfasern auch in Verbundwerkstoffen einsetzen.
Eigentlich hätte Wielopolski keinen neuen Klebstoff entwickeln müssen. Denn es gibt bereits sehr gute Harze auf dem Markt, die beispielsweise in der Auto- und der Flugzeugindustrie eingesetzt werden. Beim Flugzeug werden nämlich Bauteile wie Flügel immer öfter verleimt – und die müssen hohen Belastungen standhalten. «Doch wir wollten nicht solche High-Performance-Kleber benutzen, da sie viel zu teuer sind», sagt Wielopolski, «die kann sich kein Entwicklungsland leisten.» Denn Kostentreiber ist nicht der Bambus, sondern das Harz. Darum reduzierte er dessen Anteil auf ein Minimum und erhielt so auch die Nachhaltigkeit. Zusätzlich stammt der neue Kleber aus erneuerbaren Rohstoffen, genau gesagt aus Pflanzenöl. «Natürlich ist das nicht Olivenöl Extra Vergine», sagt Wielopolski mit einem Lächeln, «wir verwenden dafür Pflanzenabfälle.» Aus diesen gewinnt er das Öl und, über eine chemische Umwandlung, das Harz. Dieses macht das Holz nicht nur wasserfest, sondern auch formbar – optimal für ein breites Anwendungsspektrum.
«Wir haben etwas entwickelt und wollen es jetzt auch einsetzen», sagt Wielopolski. Doch er hat bereits realisiert, dass es sehr schwierig ist, innovative Materialien in Neubauten in der Praxis zu testen. «Darum bin ich froh über das Empa-Forschungsgebäude NEST», sagt Wielopolski. In ihm kann er sein Material nun erstmals ausprobieren. Doch es wird noch kein Hochhaus aus Bambus entstehen. Zunächst startet Wielopolski mit kleineren Anwendungen, mit einem Terrassenboden und mit Gartenmöbeln. Damit testet er die Witterungsbeständigkeit unter Realbedingungen. Sobald das Material diese Hürde bestanden hat, wird bald einmal Bambus als Armierung ein Thema sein. «Doch es ist ein langer Weg, wenn wir künftig etablierte Werkstoffe aus der Bauindustrie ersetzen möchten» sagt Wielopolski.